Researching Careers in the Health Sciences: Using Databases
Created for HNFE 1114 and ALS 2984
Suggested Databases
- PubMed from NLMIndexes citations, abstracts and full text from journal articles, case studies, conference papers, clinical trial reports, news reports, and reviews in the fields of medicine,nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to types of clinical queries, age, gender and species of subject, and review articles that summaries research on a topic. 1946-present.
- Web of Science from Clarivate AnalyticsThe three Web of Science databases index citations from journal articles and conference proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. You can perform cited reference searches, analyze trends and patterns, and create visual representations of citation relationships. 1900-present
- CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health with Full Text from EBSCOhost
This link opens in a new window
CINAHL indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals in nursing and allied health. It offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Searchable cited references for some journals are included. Full-text material (in PDF and HTML) includes journals, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials. 1981-present.
Searching for Articles in Databases
University Libraries has nearly 1,000 different databases! Most of them contain scholarly articles and other types of literature that you'll use in research projects during your time at Virginia Tech.
In order to search databases for articles on a topic that you're interested in, you'll need to select a few keywords. Watch the video below to get a sense of how you can use keywords to form a good search. For example, to find articles and other items related to health careers, you might want to search for:
career and (health or medicine) and guidance
Try it and see what you find!
