Books page summary
This page contains four groups of databases, each with its own focus. The groups include
Electronic books databases
-
Gale EbooksGale Ebooks is a collection of searchable ebook reference works. You can search within a particular work or across the entire collection. Individual articles from these sources are presented in HTML and PDF. Illustrations, photos, maps, and multimedia content is often included.
-
Encyclopedia Virginia from the Virginia Foundation for the HumanitiesEncyclopedia Virginia is a reference work about the Commonwealth; it aggregates in a single resource information on Virginia history, business, politics, and geography, plus the state’s proud heritage in the arts, religion, culture, and folklife. As the Encyclopedia grows, it will also explore areas of science, medicine, education, and technology. The first phase of Encyclopedia Virginia focuses on topics related to Virginia literature, Civil War history, and twentieth century history.
Discovery Search and all library holdings including books
Discovery Search is the main library search tool. It functions a lot like a Google search, but instead of searching the entire internet, it searches our library resources lists to help you find out what we have and how to access it. You can limit your search to books only, which will give lists of physical and electronic books.
You can learn more about the academic research process, including Discovery Search tips, in the Getting started with academic research linked in the main menu of this guide.
Searching for "humanities" in Discovery Search results in over seven million results, which can be filtered down to only books.
How to find and check out a book
Join Moose, the therapy dog at Cook Counseling Center, as he finds and checks out a book at Newman Library.