- University Libraries
- Research Guides
- Subject Guides
- Appalachian studies
- Additional Resources
Appalachian studies: Additional Resources
Appalachian studies at Virginia Tech is the interdisciplinary study of the social, political, economic, and environmental issues affecting the Appalachian Mountain region, past and present.
Background resources
- America: History & Life from EBSCOhost
This link opens in a new window
America: History and Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database includes citations and links to journal articles, dissertations, primary documents, and book and media reviews. Some content is available full-text (PDF and HTML). Allows limiting to peer reviewed articles, those with references, and to historical periods (date ranges). 1863-present. - AnthroSource from WileyA full text portal and index to journals, newsletters, bulletins, and books from the American Anthropological Association (content is hosted in Wiley Online Library ). Articles available in PDF and HTML. 1880s-present.
- Environment Complete from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from journals, conference proceedings, and books on the agricultural, biological, social science, and technological aspects of the environment. Full text available in HTML and PDF. The database allows limiting to peer-reviewed journals. 1888-present. - GPO Monthly Catalog
- This link opens in a new window
The catalog for U.S. government publications. Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.). Includes a bibliographic citation in each record. 1976-present. - Literature Resource Center from Gale
- This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world, supplemented by Scribner Writers and Twayne's Authors. Full text presented as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. - Music Index from EBSCOhostMusic Index Online indexes citations and abstracts for journal articles, book and performance reviews, obituaries, and proceedings on music, musicians, and the music industry in both classical and pop music. 1970-present with selective coverage in prior years.
- SocINDEX with Full Text from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX indexes abstracts and full text of journal articles, books, conference papers, case studies, and surveys on all aspects of sociology. Author profiles are provided. You can do cited reference searches and limit to scholarly sources. 1895-present.
Discovering Resources
Discovery Search includes records for most of the library’s resources: our physical collections, our journal and ebook subscriptions, streaming videos, reports, government publications, and much more. You can use limiters to narrow your search results by the format, date of publication, peer-reviewed, and availability online.