Environmental sciences: Recommended

Environmental sciences are the study of all external conditions and influences affecting the development and life of organisms on the planet Earth. Environmental sciences are necessarily interdisciplinary drawing on the expertise of many scientific discip

Overview for environmental sciences

Crop Protection Compendium
Up-to-date information on 10,000 pests, diseases, weeds and natural enemy species worldwide. Over 2,360 complete datasheets, provided by over 1,100 specialists. Data for over 200 different crops and over 150 countries, with global and regional distribution maps. Over 8000 images allowing for easy identification of crop pests. Background information on 10,000 pests, diseases, weeds and natural enemy species providing a complete archive. Some documents are available in full text as HTML and PDF.

Recommended online resources

CAB Abstracts from CABI
CAB Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, books, reports, handbooks, conference proceedings, field notes, and theses in agriculture, life sciences, natural resources, veterinary sciences, applied economics, nutrition, tourism, and the environment. Includes the CAB Abstracts Archive. Some full text available as PDFs. 1910s-present.
Environment Complete from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from journals, conference proceedings, and books on the agricultural, biological, social science, and technological aspects of the environment. Full text available in HTML and PDF. The database allows limiting to peer-reviewed journals. 1888-present.
Environment Complete contains more than 1,957,000 records from more than 1,700 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s (including 1,125 active core titles) as well as more than 120 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 680 journals, including many of the most used journals in the discipline, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist, Conservation Biology, etc. Additionally, Environment Complete provides full text for 120 monographs, such as Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (3 volumes), Advances in Water Treatment & Environmental Management, etc.
Environmental Science Index from ProQuest
- This link opens in a new window
Environmental Science Index indexes citations, abstracts, and some full text from journals, conference papers and proceedings, special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations and private corporations, books, government studies and newsletters. It covers agricultural and biological science, social science, and technological aspects of the environment. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1975-present.
Sustainability Science Abstracts from ProQuest
- This link opens in a new window
Sustainability Science Abstracts indexes abstracts and citations from journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, reports, theses, and dissertations in the fields of sustainable development, human population and demography, natural resource management, and conservation of natural resources. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1995-present.
Major areas of coverage include:

Human Population Dynamics
Population - Environment Relations
Population Statistics and Policy
Ecotourism
Sustainable Living and Consumption
Environmental Awareness and Education
Environmental Law, Conventions, & Policy
Sustainable Resource Base: Atmosphere; Land; Water and Biodiversity
Economic Drivers
Sustainable Development and Production
Sustainable Energy
Sustainable Transportation/Mobility
GeoRef from ProQuest
- This link opens in a new window
GeoRef indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses in the geological sciences. It also includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1669-present (North America coverage); 1933-present (Worldwide coverage).
The GeoRef database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered.

To maintain the database, GeoRef editor/indexers regularly scan more than 3,500 journals in 40 languages as well as new books, maps, and reports. They record the bibliographic data for each document and assign index terms to describe it. Each month between 4,000 and 7,000 new references are added to the database.

ProQuest Deep Indexing: Earth Sciences supplements GeoRef with access to deep indexing for tables, figures, graphs, charts and other illustrations from the scholarly research and technical literature for selected records. Records from the database appear with searches of GeoRef to provide an additional path for discovery.

Libraries are for Everyone

Les Bibliotheques Sont Pour Tout Le Monde

Life Science, Agriculture, and Scholarly Communication Librarian

Inga Haugen

Email Me

Contact:

204 Newman Library

540.231.7546

Subjects: Agriculture, biological sciences, and natural resources

Ask a Librarian

Interlibrary Loan Services

All current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff, regardless of your location, may request through ILLiad for materials:

not owned by Virginia Tech (books, articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
owned by Virginia Tech but are unavailable for use (print books)
owned by Virginia Tech and available in print (scans of articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)

We ship requests via UPS to users outside the immediate Blacksburg area (Montgomery, Giles and Pulaski counties).

Articles, book chapters, and many technical papers are delivered in PDF format to your ILLiad account. Occasionally, due to copyright restrictions, a paper copy of an article or standard is held for your at the Newman User Services Desk or sent o the mailing address listed on your account.