German language and literature: Recommended
Research materials for German language and literature support the study of language, literatures, art, history, and culture of German-speaking countries with a focus on Germany
Overview for German language and literature
- The Structure of German"What this book offers is an introduction to the description of the structure of present-day German in linguistic terms, i.e. according to the principles and practices of modern linguistics. Exactly what this entails, and how such a description diVers from those undertaken from other points of view, will become clear from the remaining chapters of the book, but the main theme can be brieXy stated as follows: German is here taken to be not a body of facts to be presented or learnt but rather the subject of scientific investigation."
Fox, A. (2005). The Structure of German. Oxford: OUP Oxford.
- International Medieval BibliographyIMB indexes citations for 365,000 articles from journals and conference proceedings relating to all aspects of the Middle Ages (300-1500 A.D.) in Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa. 1967-present.
- Oxford Reference Online
This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online provides full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works. Individual articles can be downloaded as PDFs.
Recommended online resources
- Art Index Retrospective from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
Art Index Retrospective is an index of over a half-century of historic scholarly literature covering fine, decorative and commercial art. It is the electronic version of the print annual publication Art Index from its first volume, 1929, through 1984. It consists of citations of over 25,000 book reviews and high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed for the fields of art history, architectural history, and the visual arts. - Language & Literature Database from ProQuest
- This link opens in a new window
This database indexes citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, conference papers, reference works, and dissertations (in full text PDFs) across multiple language literature, and primary source databases on the ProQuest platform. Use the Databases link at the top of the screen to change which databases are searched. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. - Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts from ProQuest
- This link opens in a new window
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, conference proceedings, books, and dissertations in the field of linguistics and related language sciences. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1973-present. - LitFinder from GaleLitFinder provides access to literary works and secondary-source materials covering world literature and authors throughout history, including full-text poems and poetry citations, short stories, inaugural presidential speeches, and plays. LitFinder also contains biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary. Users can quickly search for a particular author or identify authors linked by qualities such as gender, nationality, century, and genre using person search. Works search functions similarly, giving users the ability to browse works by thousands of subjects, themes, genres, and literary movements.
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text from ESBCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography indexes citations and full text of journal articles, books, dissertations, and scholarly web sites in disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts. Coverage includes literature from all over the world and includes citations to materials in many languages other than English. 1926-present. - Nineteenth Century Collections Online from GaleNCCO indexes the full text of books, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, maps, diaries, photographs, statistics, literature, government reports, treaties, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages as HTML and PDF, plus some image formats. Subject areas include British politics and society, religion, education, international relations, economics, and English, French, and German literature. 1789-1914.
- Perseus Digital LibraryPerseus Digital Library covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world, plus Arabic materials, Germanic materials, 19th-century America, the Renaissance, and Civil War issues of the Richmond Times-Dispatch. It collects texts, images, datasets and other primary materials. The database assembles and structures encyclopedias, maps, grammars, dictionaries and other reference works. 850,000 reference articles provide background on 450,000 people, places, organizations, dictionary definitions, grammatical functions and other topics.
T&LE Liaison Librarian; Coordinator of Int'l Outreach
Jennifer Nardine
she/her
Contact:
Newman Library, Room 3007
Liaison Areas: Academy of Interdisciplinary Studies, Communication; Modern and Classical Languages & Lit; Performing Arts; Religion & Culture; Sociology
Liaison Areas: Academy of Interdisciplinary Studies, Communication; Modern and Classical Languages & Lit; Performing Arts; Religion & Culture; Sociology
540-231-4073
Website
Ask a Librarian
Interlibrary Loan Services
All current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff, regardless of your location, may request through ILLiad for materials:
- not owned by Virginia Tech (books, articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
- owned by Virginia Tech but are unavailable for use (print books)
- owned by Virginia Tech and available in print (scans of articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
We ship requests via UPS to users outside the immediate Blacksburg area (Montgomery, Giles and Pulaski counties).
Articles, book chapters, and many technical papers are delivered in PDF format to your ILLiad account. Occasionally, due to copyright restrictions, a paper copy of an article or standard is held for your at the Newman User Services Desk or sent o the mailing address listed on your account.