History: Resources in related fields

What's here

Many disciplines bring their disciplinary tools to historical subjects. Many times, this scholarship is published in disciplinary contexts that are not indexed by the main history databases.

Other disciplines' approaches to historical topics

SocINDEX with Full Text from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX indexes abstracts and full text of journal articles, books, conference papers, case studies, and surveys on all aspects of sociology. Author profiles are provided. You can do cited reference searches and limit to scholarly sources. 1895-present.
EconLit with Full Text from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
EconLit indexes citations, abstracts, and full text of journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers on all aspects of economics. You can do cited reference searches and limit to scholarly sources. 1886-present.
PubMed from NLM
Indexes citations, abstracts and full text from journal articles, case studies, conference papers, clinical trial reports, news reports, and reviews in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Full text available in HTML and PDF. Numerous options to limit/filter searches. 1946-present. From US National Library of Medicine.
For historical resources in biomedicine and public health, see NLM's History of Medicine portal.
PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant Web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.

PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

A mobile version is available.
Military & Government Collection from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
The Military & Government Collection database indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals, news sources, primary source documents, legislative acts and proclamations, and other publications covering all aspects of the military. Full text presented in HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1975-present.
Military and Intelligence Database from Gale
Military and Intelligence Database indexes citations and full text from scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. The database offers content in key subject areas including governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, and the structure of the armed forces. 1980-present.

HeinOnline Portal
An essential resource for public-law research, Hein provides large and wide-ranging collections of historical and contemporary legal documents, articles, and books, including codes, treaties, constitutions, topical collections of government documents, law reviews, legal treatises from the US, Canada, and the UK.
- Current Index to Legal Periodicals indexes publications since 1936 but provides full text to four years before present (like JSTOR).
- Hein content is not limited to narrowly legal topics: includes, for example, Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law and books on public affairs published by American Enterprise Institute .

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts from ProQuest
- This link opens in a new window
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, books, essays, book reviews, working papers, technical reports, theses, and dissertations in the social sciences related to politics. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1975-present.
The database is building on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, published by IFI / Plenum, 1975-2000, and ABC POL SCI, published by ABC-CLIO, 1984-2000. Over 1,700+ titles are being monitored for coverage; of these, 67% are published outside the United States.

The references cited in the bibliography of the source article have been included for citations to core journals in political science, added to the database since 2001, and for all journals added since 2004. Each individual reference may also have links to an abstract and/or to other papers that cite that reference; these references are linked both within Worldwide Political Science Abstracts and across other social science databases from ProQuest. All records added since 2000 are indexed using a thesaurus of over 3,000 terms.

Major areas of coverage include:

Comparative politics
Developing nations
Disarmament
Economic policy
Electoral systems
Environmental policy
Government/Political systems
History and theory of political science
International relations/trade
Labor relations
Military policy
Methodology and research technology
Political behavior
Political economy
Political psychology
Politics and law
Politics and communication
Politics and religion
Politics and society
Public administration
Security and defense
Welfare systems
Humanities International Complete from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals, books and book reviews, art work and images, performances and reviews, literature and criticisms, poems and short stories, and conference proceedings. Full text is available as HTML and PDF; images are available in a variety of formats. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources.
Religion & Philosophy Collection from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
Religion and Philosophy Collection indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, magazines, and book reviews in the field of world religions, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Full-text materials are available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1967-present.

Open Access Digital Theological Library (OADTL)
Despite its formal name, the scope of OADTL is not limited to religious studies: its coverage is wide ranging, taking in the range of topics addressed by the world's religious traditions as well as those of interest to clergy as teachers, counselors, and activists. OADTL brings together freely available articles, books, government reports, working papers and the like, using the familiar OCLC WorldCat Discovery platform

CAB Abstracts from CABI
More than simply a database of the global literature of agriculture, CAB Abstracts is a key resource for works on the Global South, across life sciences, natural resources, applied economics, nutrition, tourism, and the environment. Some full text available as PDFs. 1910s-present.

Language learning systems

Rosetta Stone
Rosetta Stone offers online instruction in 25 languages, including English as a second language. "My reports" function allows you to track your progress. Mobile app versions are available.

Pimsleur language program courses (on CDs)

If you want to learn on the go or don't want to depend on internet access, the Virginia Tech Libraries have a large collection of language learning compact disks on the 5th floor of Newman Library that you can check out. These links will show you their call numbers and check-out status.

Arabic (Egyptian), Chinese (Mandarin), French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese (Brazilian), Spanish, Vietnamese.
English for Arabic speakers, English for Cantonese speakers, English for Mandarin speakers, English for Spanish speakers.

Many public libraries offer entry-level online language-learning tools like Mango Languages, Rocket Languages, and/or Babbel (among others) to residents with appropriate library cards. (Virginia Tech students qualify for cards at the Blacksburg library and other branches of the Montgomery-Floyd Regional Library District [MFRL] no matter where their homes are.)

MFRL: under eLibrary: learning
Alexandria: under Books & More: Digital Collection: Online learning
Arlington: under eCollection: Learning Tools
DC: under Research: Research Guides: Libguides: Language learning
Find Maryland public libraries
Find Virginia public libraries

Check with your local and/or hometown public library about resources it makes available to its members.