Universal Access
Periodicals and Series
Online Resources
In addition to the online resources listed below, Newman Library has a collection of physical maps and offers Geospatial Mapping Services. Special Collections and University Archives also has a collection of historical campus maps and architectural drawings.
Find popular films, documentaries, and educational videos through video streaming databases. The Art & Architecture Library keeps a collection of subject-related DVDs -- available in the library and upon request from off-site storage. We also check out external DVD drives. Newman Library has a large collection of popular DVDs.
Architecture Videos
Other Video Sources
The Art & Architecture Library houses a collection of over 500 architectural drawings and maps. Items range from local, regional, and campus buildings to national airports, libraries, museums, and residences. Physical drawings do not circulate and must be used in the library between 9am - 5pm Monday through Friday. Exceptions may be made for faculty use, but drawings must still be checked out at the front desk.
Drawings are available to view by appointment in the Art & Architecture Library. This allows us to reserve space for you to use the collection and ensure your requests are available.
We are currently collaborating with the Digital Imaging Lab in Newman Library to create high quality scans of the collection. To request access to digitized copies or to request an item be scanned, please email artarchlibrary-g@vt.edu or stop by the library. Files are shared through Google Drive.
Some drawings are also available on JSTOR by searching for the "Virginia Tech Architectural Drawings Collection" under "Images."
Many museums, universities, libraries, and historical societies have image collections online. These types of collections will usually be higher resolution than images found through a general web search. Regardless of where you find an image, always check the usage permissions and cite the source.
