- University Libraries
- Research Guides
- Subject Guides
- Theatre arts
- Additional Resources
Theatre arts: Additional Resources
Research materials for theatre arts include resources for acting, directing, scenography, costume design and construction, technical design and production, theatre history, literature and playwriting, stage management, and arts administration. While most
Audio/Video
- Drama OnlineDrama Online provides over 2000 full-text plays and monologues You can search by content type, genre, period, author, setting, theme, cast size, and roles. Its Reader can show original pagination, tables of contents, or scholarly annotations, and you can add bookmarks and notes or extract citations or a parts book. The library subscribes to Nick Hern books, Canadian Playwrights, Stage on Screen, and the Hollow Crown.
- Digital Theatre+Digital Theatre+ provides streaming videos of theatrical performances; interviews with actor directors, and technicians; reviews and critiques of shows; and educational materials about productions.
Accent development materials: Advanced Discovery search for "actor" and "dialect," limit to Physical Collection.
Perfomance/coaching DVDs: Search for title in Discovery search or browse DVDs on 2nd floor.
Sources of full-text plays
- America's Historical Imprints from Newsbank-Readex
- Early English Books Online from Chadwick
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online - ECCO from Gale
- English Verse Drama from the Electronic Text Center at UVA
- Modern English Collection from the Electronic Text Center at UVA
- Movie Scripts Database
Hard copy scripts: 3rd Floor of Newman Library near main elevators and Children's lit. Look up title/call number in Discovery Search FIRST if you need a specific script.
Sources of drama reviews and critique
- Art Full Text and Art Retrospective from EBSCOhost
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index from Thomson Reuters Web of Knowledge
- Book, Movie, Music, Play, and Video Reviews from LexisNexis
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers from the Library of Congress
- Humanities International Complete from EBSCOhost
- MLA International Bibliography from ProQuest
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers
- ProQuest Historical Periodicals
Discovering Resources
Discovery Search includes records for most of the library’s resources: our physical collections, our journal and ebook subscriptions, streaming videos, reports, government publications, and much more. You can use limiters to narrow your search results by the format, date of publication, peer-reviewed, and availability online.