Research materials for Arabic language and literature support the study of the language, literatures, art, history, culture, and business practices of Arabic-speaking countries.
To find articles, search within any of the available databases, or use the libraries' main search, Discovery Search, to see an overview of available journals and other periodicals in which you'll find articles. Learn more about how Discovery Search works on the Find electronic and physical books tab.
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. The Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as flags of the world, a physical map of the world, a political map of the world, and a standard time zones of the world map.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles (PDFs) from journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, statistical documents, theses and dissertations, and other sources in the social sciences and education. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1900s-present.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide, produced by NISC, is a core resource providing comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of family science, human ecology, human development, and social welfare. FSSW covers popular issues as well as meeting the requirements of professionals in all fields of social work, social science and family practice.
Coverage spans publications from a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history and social work. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, statistical documents, theses and dissertations, and other sources.
Historical Abstracts indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals, books, and dissertations that cover the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Full text available as HTML and PDF. The database allows limiting results to specific time periods (not just publication dates). You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1800s-present.
CLIO Notes for Historical Abstracts will guide you through subjects in World History since 1450 (excluding the United States and Canada) by allowing you to browse through chronologies and brief summaries of significant events and themes in modern history. On the main screen you will find a list of majors time periods and events. Each of these is further divided into subtopics that display informative essays and suggestions for further research. Linked subject terms are also provided that will allow you to search the entire Historical Abstracts database for articles, book citations and dissertations.
The historical period limiter searches the time span of the event described within the record. There are two options to select for era: "b.c.e. (BC)" and "c.e. (AD)"; where b.c.e. refers to Before the Common Era and c.e. refers to the Common Era. If no era is selected, the search limiter defaults to "c.e. (AD)". To search any historical period Before the Common Era, the "b.c.e. (BC)" value must be selected before clicking the search button. It is possible for a record to include more than one historical period. Please note that the year 0 is not searchable.
1950 c.e. - 1960 c.e. will return results that occur between 1950 and 1960 including any events that encompass part or all of the historical period. (For example, a record with the time span 1900-1999 will be included in the above search).
1950 c.e. in the first edit box will return results from 1950-present.
2000 c.e. in the second edit box will return all results up to the year 2000 c.e.
1929 c.e. - 1929 c.e. will match the exact year of 1929 c.e. Any records that encompass this year in their range will also be included in the results.
IMB indexes citations for 365,000 articles from journals and conference proceedings relating to all aspects of the Middle Ages (300-1500 A.D.) in Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa. 1967-present.
SocINDEX indexes abstracts and full text of journal articles, books, conference papers, case studies, and surveys on all aspects of sociology. Author profiles are provided. You can do cited reference searches and limit to scholarly sources. 1895-present.
World History in Context provides curated topic pages with academic journal articles, primary sources, reference works, news sources, multimedia, and biographies on people, countries and cultures, conflicts, organizations, religions, events, periods, and economics.
Confidential Print: Middle East provides digitized primary sources from the British National Archives collections of confidential correspondence from the Middle East, Turkey, and the former Ottoman Empire. Content includes reports, descriptions of leading personalities, political summaries, economic analyses, maps, and dispatches and letters.
Foreign Office Files for the Middle East provides digitized primary source material covering governance and conflict in the Middle East and surrounding countries. Content includes government reports, correspondence and diplomatic dispatches, personality profiles, political summaries, economic analyses, maps, newspaper cuttings, and other print materials.
Perseus Digital Library covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world, plus Arabic materials, Germanic materials, 19th-century America, the Renaissance, and Civil War issues of the Richmond Times-Dispatch. It collects texts, images, datasets and other primary materials. The database assembles and structures encyclopedias, maps, grammars, dictionaries and other reference works. 850,000 reference articles provide background on 450,000 people, places, organizations, dictionary definitions, grammatical functions and other topics.
Trismegistos is a conglomerate of databases, with Texts, Collections, Archives, People, Places, and Authors as main sections. Arguably one of the most important databases for papyrological research, Trismegistos is an interdisciplinary portal of papyrological and epigraphical resources. The core of Trismegistos is Trismegistos Texts, which provides information about all published and semi-published texts from Egypt and the Nile valley, between roughly BC 800 and 800 AD, not only in Greek, Latin, and Egyptian, but also in Meroitic, Aramaic, Arabic, Nabataean, Carian, and other languages.
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world, supplemented by Scribner Writers and Twayne's Authors. Full text presented as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources.
This database indexes citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, conference papers, reference works, and dissertations (in full text PDFs) across multiple language literature, and primary source databases on the ProQuest platform. Use the Databases link at the top of the screen to change which databases are searched. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, conference proceedings, books, and dissertations in the field of linguistics and related language sciences. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1973-present.
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world, supplemented by Scribner Writers and Twayne's Authors. Full text presented as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources.
MLA International Bibliography indexes citations and full text of journal articles, books, dissertations, and scholarly web sites in disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts. Coverage includes literature from all over the world and includes citations to materials in many languages other than English. 1926-present.
Music Index Online indexes citations and abstracts for journal articles, book and performance reviews, obituaries, and proceedings on music, musicians, and the music industry in both classical and pop music. 1970-present with selective coverage in prior years.
Rosetta Stone is back! Users may now access Rosetta Stone through a course shell in Canvas with the following URL https://canvas.vt.edu/enroll/KN77HJ.
Rosetta Stone is a language-learning platform offering instruction in 25 languages through an immersive approach. It features interactive lessons, TruAccent® speech recognition to refine pronunciation, and tools for naturally building vocabulary and grammar skills. The platform includes flexible learning options, and is designed to support learners at various levels.
For assistance, please contact Edward Lener, lener@vt.edu, and Craig Whetten, whettenc@vt.edu
