Arabic language and literature: Home
Research materials for Arabic language and literature support the study of the language, literatures, art, history, culture, and business practices of Arabic-speaking countries.
Overview for Arabic language and literature
- Gale EbooksGale Ebooks is a collection of searchable ebook reference works. You can search within a particular work or across the entire collection. Individual articles from these sources are presented in HTML and PDF. Illustrations, photos, maps, and multimedia content is often included.
Recommended online resources
- Literature Resource Center from Gale
This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world, supplemented by Scribner Writers and Twayne's Authors. Full text presented as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. - Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts from ProQuest
- This link opens in a new window
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, conference proceedings, books, and dissertations in the field of linguistics and related language sciences. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1973-present. - MLA International Bibliography with Full Text from ESBCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography indexes citations and full text of journal articles, books, dissertations, and scholarly web sites in disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts. Coverage includes literature from all over the world and includes citations to materials in many languages other than English. 1926-present. - Language & Literature Database from ProQuest
- This link opens in a new window
This database indexes citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, conference papers, reference works, and dissertations (in full text PDFs) across multiple language literature, and primary source databases on the ProQuest platform. Use the Databases link at the top of the screen to change which databases are searched. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. - Perseus Digital LibraryPerseus Digital Library covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world, plus Arabic materials, Germanic materials, 19th-century America, the Renaissance, and Civil War issues of the Richmond Times-Dispatch. It collects texts, images, datasets and other primary materials. The database assembles and structures encyclopedias, maps, grammars, dictionaries and other reference works. 850,000 reference articles provide background on 450,000 people, places, organizations, dictionary definitions, grammatical functions and other topics.
- TrismegistosTrismegistos is a conglomerate of databases, with Texts, Collections, Archives, People, Places, and Authors as main sections. Arguably one of the most important databases for papyrological research, Trismegistos is an interdisciplinary portal of papyrological and epigraphical resources. The core of Trismegistos is Trismegistos Texts, which provides information about all published and semi-published texts from Egypt and the Nile valley, between roughly BC 800 and 800 AD, not only in Greek, Latin, and Egyptian, but also in Meroitic, Aramaic, Arabic, Nabataean, Carian, and other languages.
T&LE Liaison Librarian; Coordinator of Int'l Outreach
Jennifer Nardine
she/her
Contact:
Newman Library, Room 3007
Liaison Areas: Academy of Interdisciplinary Studies, Communication; Modern and Classical Languages & Lit; Performing Arts; Religion & Culture; Sociology
Liaison Areas: Academy of Interdisciplinary Studies, Communication; Modern and Classical Languages & Lit; Performing Arts; Religion & Culture; Sociology
540-231-4073
Website
Interlibrary Loan Services
All current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff, regardless of your location, may request through ILLiad for materials:
- not owned by Virginia Tech (books, articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
- owned by Virginia Tech but are unavailable for use (print books)
- owned by Virginia Tech and available in print (scans of articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
We ship requests via UPS to users outside the immediate Blacksburg area (Montgomery, Giles and Pulaski counties).
Articles, book chapters, and many technical papers are delivered in PDF format to your ILLiad account. Occasionally, due to copyright restrictions, a paper copy of an article or standard is held for your at the Newman User Services Desk or sent o the mailing address listed on your account.