Research Guides: Graphic Design: Find Articles

Recommended Databases

Databases are large collections of articles and scholarly content. They typically focus on a specific subject. Below are good resources for finding information on graphic design. You can also browse our A-Z Databases list to see all databases available through the library.

Art & Architecture ePortal
Art & Architecture (A&A) ePortal provides ebooks in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design. Most titles (80%) are exclusive to the platform and are published by Yale University Press and other leading university presses (Princeton, Harvard, MIT) and museum publishers (Art Institute of Chicago, National Gallery of Art, Philadelphia Museum of Art). It contains a wide variety of content, including scholarly monographs, museum catalogs, and catalouges raisonnés.
Art & Architecture Source from EBSCOhost
Art & Architecture Source is a full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as film, photography, architecture and architectural design. The database offers full-text art journals and magazines, plus thousands of images with international coverage from all eras, regions and important artists.
ARTbibliographies Modern from ProQuest
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1960s-present.

ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Full coverage begins in 1974 when the first volume was digitized, but entries date back to the late 1960s.

ABM is the premier source of information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, including photography since its invention. It includes abstracts of English and foreign-language material on famous and lesser-known artists, movements, and trends. The coverage of ABM is wide-ranging and includes performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.
Art Index Retrospective from EBSCOhost
Art Index Retrospective is an index of over a half-century of historic scholarly literature covering fine, decorative and commercial art. It is the electronic version of the print annual publication Art Index from its first volume, 1929, through 1984. It consists of citations of over 25,000 book reviews and high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed for the fields of art history, architectural history, and the visual arts.
DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index from ProQuest
DAAI indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, news reports, and reviews on design and applied arts (including performing arts-related design). You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1973-present.

Finding Journals Online

Looking for a specific journal, magazine, or periodical? Use the library catalog's Journal Search to find specific titles -- simply click "journal search" under the search bar of the library homepage. The menu on the left of the page links to many helpful articles about finding journal articles.

When you search a title, you will see the different types of access available (physical subscription, electronic access, or both). Journals we no longer subscribe to or issues older than 5 years are stored off-site. To see these titles, request them through the library catalog. They are available for in-library use in the Art & Architecture Library.

Example: Ceramics, art and perception is available online in many databases, from off-site storage, and in the Art & Architecture Library.

BrowZine

BrowZine is another way to search journals. You can search by subject, keyword, or title. It also allows for browsing by subject. Some researchers find its visual layout to be helpful. Access BrowZine through the Journal Search page linked above.