Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Summer Reading Ideas: Short Summer Reads (Stories/Poems/Essays)

Looking for some summer reads? Check out this guide for suggestions from the Popular Reading Collection on the main (2nd) floor of Newman Library!

Popular Reading Collection

The Popular Reading Collection - around the corner from the Services Desk and near the DVDs on the 2nd floor of Newman Library - is made up of new and best-selling titles. The collection has adult and young adult fiction, non-fiction, travel guides, and graphic novels, all selected with an emphasis on diversity, equity, and inclusion. Check out the lists on each tab of this guide for a few summer reading suggestions! These titles are just a sample of what we have to offer, so you can also browse the whole collection online.

Short Stories, Poems, and Essay Collections

Short on time? Struggling with focus? Try one of the following collections, full of bite-sized reads to sample from. Don't forget to browse the collection for even more options! Click on a book title below for more information and to see if it is currently available for check-out.

High-Impact Practices Librarian

Profile Photo
Kirsten Dean
Contact:
317 Newman Library
540-231-8952

Teaching and Learning Engagement Librarian

Profile Photo
Katlyn Griffin
she / her / hers
Contact:
317 Newman Library
540-231-9243