Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Christiansburg Industrial Institute Research Guide: Archival Collections

This guide includes archival materials and other resources about Christiansburg Industrial Institute at Virginia Tech Special Collections and University Archives and beyond.

Archival Collections at Special Collections and University Archives

This part of the guide primarily focuses on the manuscript collections found at Special Collections and University Archives.

It is important to note that some of these collections may only include a couple of documents and materials related to the Institute. If you have any questions, feel free to contact us!

Click on the titles of the collections to lead you to the finding aids to get started on your research. You can search for more finding aids by heading over to Virginia Heritage, a consolidated database of finding aids for many organizations throughout Virginia and West Virginia.

Archival Collections

Annual Report of the Christiansburg Industrial Institute From 1908

Christiansburg Industrial Institute Historical Documents, 1866-1991 (Ms1991-033)

  • This collection contains several boxes about Christiansburg Institute. It includes papers, annual reports, poems, letters, photographs, and other documents. 

Elizabeth Fine Papers, 1983-2012 (Ms2015-041)

  • This collection contains correspondence, programs, records, and newspaper clippings regarding "Project CI," the outreach and fundraising campaign to save Christiansburg Institute.

Gary Ann Giovanni Culinary Papers, 1997-2004 (Ms2006-011)

  • This collection contains recipes and shopping lists for an event at Christiansburg Institute.

John Nicolay Papers, 1792-1895 (Ms1987-027)

  • This collection contains several chapters from a Radford University student's Master's Thesis about Christiansburg Industrial Institute, as well as a great deal of information regarding the history of the African-American experience in the Montgomery County area.

Montgomery County/Christiansburg Vertical Files, 1960s - present

  • This vertical files collection includes various newspapers clipping about Christiansburg Institute over the years. 

Records of the Office of the President, Joseph Dupuy Eggleston, 1900-1948 (Bulk 1913-1919) (RG 2/7)

  • This collection contains records pertaining to Edgar A. Long, Principal of Christiansburg Institute from 1906-1924.

Richard B. Dickenson Papers, 1931-2004 (Ms2011-043)

  • This collection contains several folders about Christiansburg Institute and the Alumni Association. It includes pamphlets, letters, a Master's Thesis, photographs, drawings, cassette tape interviews, and other documents. There is also a pamphlet referring to Booker T. Washington.

Smithey & Boynton, Architects & Engineers Records, 1922-1985 (Ms1992-027)

  • This collection contains several records regarding various engineering projects at Christiansburg Institute.

About Special Collections and University Archives

New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company
New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company

Hours: 
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm & By Appointment

Contact us:
Email: specref@vt.edu
Telephone: 540-231-6308

Twitter: @VT_SCUA
Information for Visitors

Find us online!
Our website
Our digital collections
Our blog
Our LibGuide (Information about us and our collections)