Science and Technology in Special Collections and University Archives

This guide is designed to help researchers locate science and technology materials in Special Collections and University Archives (SCUA). This guide does not contain all of the materials in SCUA related to science and technology, but is intended to be a helpful starting point. 

The guide is divided into sections by topic. Under each topic tab you will find links to relevant books, manuscript collections, and online materials. The Additional Resources tab includes helpful information and links to search tools for primary sources and keywords, as well as links to resources outside of Virginia Tech.

On this page, you will find some of our materials related to science and technology in general, as well as a selection from our online collections.

This guide uses many different source materials from across the archives. If you are interested in learning more about a particular collection or topic, please don't hesitate to make an appointment or contact a staff member for help or suggestions!

Books

• Above and beyond: the encyclopedia of aviation and space sciences. New Horizons Publishers, 1967-1968. Call number: TL509 A2
• Decade: ten years of innovation in interdisciplinary research 2006-2016. Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University Institute for Critical Technology and Applied Science, 2016. Call number: LD5655 A7332 2026
• Fenn, Joseph. History of mathematics: containing an account of the progress of mathematics from its origin of that science to the present time; wherein are exhibited the principal mathematical discoveries, and the disputes they have given rise to. To which is annexed a plan of the system of the physical and moral world, as published by order of the Dublin society, to enable youth to pursue with success geographical, nautical, mechanical, commercial and military studies. 1772. Call number: Q181 F33
• Lopez, Anthony. Glossary of food terms used in food science and technology. Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, 1975. Call number: LD5655 A771 B8 no. 97-104
• Midgette, Nancy Smith. To foster the spirit of professionalism: Southern scientists and state academics of science. University of Alabama Press, 1991. Call number: Q11 M58 1991
• Miller, Glen. Thinking through science and technology: philosophy, religion, and politics in an engineered world. Rowman and Littlefield Publishers, 2023. Call number: T14 T446 2023
• Science and Technology Studies at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University: a unified approach to science and technology through history, philosophy, and sociology. Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University Center for the Study of Science in Society, 1988. Call number: LD5655 A7272 1988a

Manuscripts

• Ms2001-011. Al Gross Papers, 1909-2000. Finding aid available online.
• Ms1994-028. Henry M. Morris Papers, 1937-1999. Finding aid available online.
• Ms1993-006. Joseph T. Baily Engineering Lecture Notes, 1870. Finding aid available online.
• Ms2000-035. Kristine K. Fallon Papers, 1966-2018. Finding aid available online.
• Ms2021-026. Oral Histories of Technology in Teaching, 2002. Finding aid available online.