Skip to Main Content

Researching Blacksburg, Virginia, History: Maps

This guide contains information on resources for researching Blacksburg, Virginia, history in Newman Library, including Special Collections.

About Special Collections and University Archives

New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company
New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company

Hours: 
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm & By Appointment

Contact us:
Email: specref@vt.edu
Telephone: 540-231-6308
Twitter: @VT_SCUA
Information for Visitors

Find us online!
Our website
Our digital collections
Our blog
Our LibGuide (Information about us and our collections)

Blacksburg Maps in Newman Library

The general map collection on the first floor of Newman Library contains maps of Blacksburg. These include: street numbering maps (1947 and pre- 1979); quad map, 15 min. 1/62500 (1932); maps with proposed street right of way for Pepper St. (1958 ?); VPI and surrounding area, topographical map showing location of buildings (1935); Blacksburg park/playground center (1960's); and plan for future land use with recommendations of Blacksburg, Ellett area (pre-1977).

Blacksburg Maps in Special Collections

Maps in Special Collections are filed in the closed stacks and should be requested at the Special Collections reference desk. The drawer location of the maps is indicated below (i.e. "Folder D-1") and is helpful information to have when requesting maps. Please note: The list below only includes Blacksburg-specific maps. Other maps may be of interest. You can view the full Guide to the Historical Map Collection online. 

  • BLACKSBURG. MAP OF HOUSTON FARM OF 177.28 ACRES, SHOWING 4EQUAL DIVISIONS OF 44.32 ACRES EACH. A. Murrill, Surveyor, 1910. 31 x 38in. [Folder D-3].
  • BLACKSBURG. PRELIMINARY AND LOCATION OF PROPOSED RAILROAD LINE. W. Dickenson, Senior Civil Engineering Class, 1911. 11 x 33 in. [Folder D-3].
  • BLACKSBURG. MAP OF THE MARY HENDERSON LOTS. A. Murrill, 1915. 25 x 29 in. [Folder D-3].
  • SUBDIVISION MAP OF THE JOHN L. EAKIN FARM, BLACKSBURG, VA. A. Murrill, 1919. 17 x20 in. [Folder D-3].
  • MAP OF PORTION OF WEST BLACKSBURG. W. Dickinson, ca.1920. 23 x 36 in.[Folder D-3].
  • MAP OF BLACKSBURG, VA. Drawn by Lucy Lee Lancaster with the assistance of W.L. Lancaster, 1927. 18 x 24 in. [Folder D-3].
  • MIDHURST. J.M. MCBRYDE ESTATE, BLACKSBURG, VA. W.F. Wall, 1932. Original, 30 x 18 in; blueprint, 29 x 17 in. [Folder D-3].
  • MAP OF THE TOWN OF BLACKSBURG. Traced by L. R. Hoilman, 1935. Retraced 1946. 18 x 21 in. [Folder D-3].
  • BLACKSBURG. U.S. Geological Survey, 1932. Reproduction; 9 x 14 in. [Folder D-3].
  • PROPERTIES OF THE BLACKSBURG REALTY CORPORATION & RELIANCE MILLS. BLACKSBURG, VA. Childress Hall, 1939. [Folder D-3].
  • MOSAIC OF TOWN AND ENVIRONS, BLACKSBURG, VIRGINIA. William M. Sterrett, 1954. 11 x 17 in. [Folder D-4].
  • STREET MAP AND GUIDE TO BLACKSBURG, VIRGINIA. 1956. 9 x 14 in.[Folder D-4].
  • BLACKSBURG, VIRGINIA. Tom J. Pierce, Realtor, 1959. 10 x 14 in. [Folder D-4].
  • TOWN OF BLACKSBURG ZONING MAP. May 11, 1965. 18 x 24 in. [Folder D-4].
  • TOWN OF BLACKSBURG, VA. Blacksburg Sun, 1965. 11 x 16 in. [Folder D-4].
  • TOWN OF BLACKSBURG OFFICIAL STREET MAP January 1965. 18 x 23 in.[Folder D-4].
  • TOWN OF BLACKSBURG ZONING MAP. Reproduced by courtesy of the National Bank of Blacksburg, 1966. 9 x 12 in. [Folder D-5].
  • TOWN OF BLACKSBURG, VIRGINIA AND VICINITY. EXISTING LAND USE OF AREA PROPOSED FOR ANNEXATION. Wiley and Wilson, Consulting Engineers, 1968 16 x 23 in [Folder D-5].
  • TOWN OF BLACKSBURG, VIRGINIA, AND VICINITY. Wiley & Wilson, Consulting Engineers, 1970. 42 x 74 in. [Folder D-5].
  • BLACKSBURG, VA. ZONING MAP. Virginia Tech Alumni Association, 1970. 20 x 26 in [Folder D-6]
  • TOWN OF BLACKSBURG, VIRGINIA. Blacksburg Engineering Dept., September 1973. 25 x 35 in. [Folder D-6].
  • TOPO OF SMITHFIELD PLANTATION. Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University Physical Plant, 1974. 80 x 36 in. [Rolled map, Drawer D].
  • GEOLOGY OF THE BLACKSBURG QUADRANGLE, VIRGINIA. M. J. Bartholomew andW. D. Lowry, 1979. 29 x 42 in. [Folder D-6].
  • MAP OF TOWN OF BLACKSBURG AND MONTGOMERY COUNTY.Noonkester Real Estate, ca.1980. 2 sides. 18 x 22 in. [Folder D-6].
  • TOWN OF BLACKSBURG, MONTGOMERY COUNTY, VIRGINIA. M. Swanson, 1981. 22 x 18 in. [Folder D-6].

Montgomery County Maps featuring Blacksburg in Special Collections

Maps in Special Collections are filed in the closed stacks and should be requested at the Special Collections reference desk. The drawer location of the maps is indicated below (i.e. "Folder D-1") and is helpful information to have when requesting maps. Please note: The list below only includes select Montgomery County maps. Other maps may be of interest. You can view the full Guide to the Historical Map Collection online. 

  • HISTORICAL MAP OF MONTGOMERY COUNTY, VIRGINIA, GIVING THE NAMES AND LOCATIONS OF MANY OF THE EARLY ADVENTURERS IN THE TERRITORY FROM 1750 TO 1865. Roanoke Historical Society, 1970. 2 copies. 23 x 29 in. [Folder D-1].
  • MAP OF THE BLACKSBURG RAILROAD. Ca. 1880. Map of Montgomery County area. 9 x 12 in. [Folder D-1].
  • MAP OF MONTGOMERY COUNTY, SHOWING PRIMARY AND SECONDARY HIGHWAYS. Virginia Dept. of Highways, 1933. l9 x 21 in. [Folder D-1].
  • ENVIRONMENTAL AND CULTURAL FEATURES OF MONTGOMERY COUNTY. Montgomery County Planning Department, 1982. 19 x 24 in. [Folder D-1].

Maps Cataloged in Special Collections or Newman Library

  • BLACKSBURG, MONTGOMERY COUNTY, VIRGINIA. Sanborn Fire Insurance Map (1928, updated in 1954). [G1294 B53 B5 1928 Special Collections].
  • BLACKSBURG, VIRGINIA. Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps. (1915, 1921, 1944). [G3881 G475 S35 (Reel 2) Microfilm].
  • Bartholomew, Mervin J. GEOLOGY OF BLACKSBURG QUADRANGLE, VIRGINIA (1979). Blacksburg topographical map. [QE173 V554a no. 14 Newman 4th floor, Newman Reserve, and Remote Storage (requires notice for retrieval)].