Research Guides: AFST 4354 Rivera-Rideau: Additional resources

Primary Sources

African-American Newspapers (1827-1998)
This resource provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes papers from more than 35 states, features many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.
Roanoke Tribune (1977-Present)

African-American Poetry from ProQuest
A collection of over 2,500 poems. It provides a survey of African American poetry from the earliest published African American poems to the works of Paul Laurence Dunbar. The bibliographic basis is William French's Afro-American Poetry and Drama 1760-1975.
Literature Criticism from Gale
Includes full text of 3 references works: Short Story Criticism: most-studied short story writers with a historical survey of the critical response to their work; Drama Criticism: For each play or playwright: critical opinion, a biographical sketch, a chronological list of the writer's major works and more; Children's Literature Review: most popular and influential authors of the genre are assessed through criticism of their major works. Entries presented in HTML and scanned page images that can be exported in PDF.
Literature Resource Center from Gale
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world, supplemented by Scribner Writers and Twayne's Authors. Full text presented as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources.