The Heart and the Fist: International
Affairs

  The name "United Nations", coined by United States President Franklin D. Roosevelt was first used in the Declaration by United Nations of 1 January 1942, during Second World War.  Read more

United Nations. (2010). In R. M. Collin & R. W. Collin, Encyclopedia of Sustainability (Vol. 2, pp. 101-113). Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood Press.
The idea that nations should come together for any purpose other than trade or war was a radical one for most of human history. Many nations preferred to be isolated and defended their borders from all encroachment. President Franklin D. Roosevelt first used the term “United nations” in the Declaration by United Nations on January 1, 1942. This declaration occurred during World War II when 26 nations agreed to continue fighting against the Axis powers. Read more

International Relations. (2008). In W. A. Darity, Jr. (Ed.), International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences (2nd ed., Vol. 4, pp. 99-101). Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA

International relations (IR) is the study of relationships among the actors of international politics. Such actors include nation-states, international organizations, nongovernmental organizations, and multinational corporations. The field is also sometimes called international politics, international studies, or international affairs. In the United States, IR is a branch of political science, while it is considered its own interdisciplinary field in the European and British academy.  Read more

Lerner, A. W. (2013). New World Order. In K. L. Lerner, B. W. Lerner, & S. Benson (Eds.), Human Geography (Vol. 1, pp. 345-347). Detroit: Gale.
The global centers of economic and political influence shift with the rise and fall of dominant nations, political alliances, economic models, and patterns of culture and trade. The term new world order has been used to describe several such periods in modern history, especially large shifts in global political and economic power in the century beginning after World War I (1914–1918). The most common use of new world order described an optimistic vision for the post–Cold War period, following the collapse of the Soviet satellite-state system behind the Iron Curtain in the late 1980s and the fall of the Soviet Union in 1991, in which a new geopolitical balance of power emerged that was no longer defined by tensions between the two major global superpowers of the United States and the Soviet Union.  Read more

• International Studies Compendium (International Studies Encyclopedia)

  Scholarly encyclopedia provides in-depth, full-text essays on the social and environmental aspects of international studies and international relations. It includes links to archives, datasets, cases, and pedagogical aids. Updated periodically, but content of hot topics will sometimes be dated.

   

  CQ Press Electronic Library

  CQ Press Library includes highly respected news and analysis of politics and policy making (mainly in the US but increasingly internationally); data collections, handbooks, and encyclopedias on US and foreign political institutions, and reference works and historical treatments of international relations and comparative politics. Most content is presented as HTML web pages, though tables and PDFs of some documents are also included. Most works in this collection are secondary sources published in the past few years, but some historical primary sources included date as far back as the 1700s. For a different view of this content, browse or search SAGE Knowledge Portal.