Library Help: ENGL 3764 Technical Writing: Find Articles
Finding Articles
- Academic Search Complete from EBSCOhost
This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, books, reports, and conference proceedings in all subject disciplines. Full text provided in PDF and HTML. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals. Searches can be limited to peer reviewed sources. Indexing 1887-present, most full-text content 1980s-present.
- Subject GuidesLists of specialized and recommended databases and resources for each subject area. Look here to find more resources for your topic.
Education Research
If your topic, has an educational focus start looking for articles in these databases.
- Education Research Complete from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals, books, book chapters, case studies, essays, interviews, conference proceedings, product reviews, and experiments in all areas of education. You can limit to peer-reviewed journals. 1865-present. - ERIC via EBSCOhostERIC indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, conference and meeting papers, government documents, theses and dissertations, reports, A/V materials, books, and more on all aspects of education. Many documents are available in full text (HTML and PDF). You can limit to peer-reviewed sources for documents published since 2004. 1966-present.
Architecture Research
If your topic is focused on architecture or building, you might start with these databases.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals from EBSCOhostAvery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles in architecture and design from American and international scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, and publications of professional organizations. In addition, this database also provides citation records for architects' obituaries. Full text, when available, is in PDF and HTML. 1800s-present.
More Resources
- Urban Studies Abstracts from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
Urban Studies Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts of journal articles on all aspects of urban studies. 1973-present. - APA PsycINFO from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO indexes citations, abstracts, cited references, and some full text from articles, books, dissertations, and reviews on all aspects of psychology. Full text provided as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources, age group, classification code, methodology, and population group. 1840-present.
Peer Review Explained
Has your instructor asked you to find peer-reviewed articles? Maybe he or she used the term scholarly, academic, or refereed? Watch this video from NCSU Libraries to find out more about what that means.
What do Scholarly Articles Look Like?
This tutorial about the Anatomy of a Scholarly Article created by NC States library will help you get a general sense of what a scholarly article looks like.