Geospatial Data Services: Mapping the Coronavirus
The COVID-19 pandemic has become a popular research topic over the past several weeks. To better enable researchers at Virginia Tech who are interested in mapping components of the COVID-19 pandemic, we’ve compiled the following set of resources;
- The Interactive Maps and Dashboards section provides links to existing maps and dashboards where cases of COVID-19 have already been mapped. This section includes domestic and international map examples.
- The Coronavirus Mapping Tutorials and Tips section provides links to introductory material for users interested in mapping their own COVID-19 source data. There are instructions for mapping data with both proprietary and open source software.
- The Data Resources and Databases section provides links to source data that have already been compiled. These resources include links to domestic as well as international resources.
For further help finding mapping data related to the COVID-19 pandemic or for help creating your own map of the COVID-19 pandemic, please contact firstname.lastname@example.org.
Interactive Maps and Dashboards
Coronavirus Mapping Tutorials and Tips
- QGIS Mapping the Corona Virus Outbreak (YouTube Video)
In this video tutorial you will be shown how to download information that can be used to visualize the Corona Virus outbreak.
- QGIS Mapping Tutorial: (You Tube Video)
Loading Countywide COVID-19 data into QGIS..
Data Resources and Databases
- Virginia Department of Health - Hospitalizations Public Use Data
Cases, hospitalizations, and facilities at the locality level. This data set now included historical data of cumulative counts by date. VDH COVID - 19 - PublicUseDataset - Cases, Cases by-Confirmation, Cases, hospitalizations, and fatalities by demographics at the district level: VDH-COVID-19 Cases By-District-Death-Hospitalization, Cases by Sex, Cases by Race, and Cases By Age Group
- ICPSR COVID-19 Data Repository
ICPSR has created a new archive for data examining the social, behavioral, public health, and economic impact of the novel coronavirus global pandemic The COVID-19 Data repository is a free, self-publishing option for any researcher or journalist who wants to share data related to COVID-19 The data will be available to any interested user for secondary analysis.This repository will capture data to help researchers and journalists understand and respond to the pandemic.
- Tableau: Access, analyze and stay informed
Trusted Coronavirus (COVID-19) global data from our community experts.
- Coronavirus - The big data response (SAGE OCEAN)
We have gathered a collection of resources related to the analytics of COVID-19 data. These include mapping the spread of the virus. GitHub data repositories, some of the datasets currently being used as well as how people are using R and Python to help understand the virus.
- Johns Hopkins CSSE: 2019 Novel Coronavirus COVID-19 (2019-nCoV) Data Repository
This is the data repository for the 2019 Novel Coronavirus visual Dashboard operated by the Johns Hopkins University Center for systems Science and Engineering (JKU CSSE) Also, Supported by ESRI Living Atlas Team and the JHU Applied Physics Lab (JHU APL). This GitHub repo and its contents herein, includiWe have gathered a collection of resources related to the analytics of COVID-19 data. These include mapping the spread of the virus. GitHub data repositories, some of the datasets currently being used as well as how people are using R and Python to help understand the virus.
- Harvard Dataverse: China COVID-19 Daily Cases with Basemap
Daily update on the numbers of COVID-19 confirmed, recovered and dead cases with Chinese provincial and city level base maps in the format of Shapefile. The data starts from January 22, 2020.
- GitHub: Novel Coronavirus 2019 time series data on cases.
Coronavirus disease 2019 time series listing confirmed cases, reported deaths and reported recoveries. Data is desegregated by country (and sometimes subregion)
- GitHub: The new York Times COVID-19
An ongoing repository of data on coronavirus cases and deaths in the United States.
Databases (Virginia Tech Faculty, Students & Staff Access)..
PolicyMap provides data through interactive maps about communities and markets across the U.S., for research, market studies, business planning, site selection, grant applications, and impact analysis.
Special Edition Newsletter: COVID-19 Preparedness Headlines:
April 24, 2020 - University Instructors Rely on PolicyMap for Analyzing COVID-19
April 10, 2020 - Racial Disparities Magnified by COVID-19 Cases and Deaths
April 3, 2020 - Telemedicine and the Digital Divide.
March 27, 2020 - Matching Hospital Capacity to Risk For Severe COVID-19 Response
March 18, 2020 - Using PolicyMap to Identify Populations Vulnerable to COVID-19.
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping and data analysis application designed for non-technical as well as advanced users to create interactive thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. There are thousands of data variables related to demographics, employment, housing, market segments, businesses, consumer spending, brand preferences, and public health. VT users are not required to log-in with a user name and password--simply click "Sign in as a guest". However, your work will not be saved unless you create an account.Trusted The As COVID-19 spreads across the United States researchers need access to the latest data visualization and analytics tools. As a result, the SimplyAnalytics team just added COVID-19 data at the national, state, and county levels to SimplyAnalytics. The data is from SAFacts.org and we update it daily with the latest numbers. The following data variables are now available in SimplyAnalytics:
Confirmed COVID-19 Cases by date
Prevalence of confirmed COVID-19 cases (per 100,000 individuals) by date
Deaths from COVID-19 by date.
Prevalence of deaths from COVID-19 (per 100,000 individuals) by date
This data can be combined with our demographics & health data variables to identify areas with vulnerable residents.
Social Explorer provides visualizations of social science data sets, including the US census and the American Community Survey..
April 21, 2020 - Social Explorer news Update:
Social Explorer unveils a new COVID-19 dataset which allows you to track confirmed cases, deaths, and the growth rate of the virus on a daily basis. This data represents Social Explorer's first version of COVID-19 data visualization, and updates are soon to be followed.