Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ALS FYE: Resources to Search

For the Agriculture and Life Sciences First Year Experience students, and anyone as a reference to beginning academic research

A Few Resources for Finding Information

Discovery Search

  • Sometimes referred to as the "Library's Google" this index searches the full text for your terms across multiple vendors at the same time to find a variety of information sources about your topic.
    • Use the "facets" on the left hand side to help narrow results down
      • information type
      • date
      • subject
      • language
      • and more!
    • It is also helpful to use if you are looking for a specific article title (put the title in quotation marks) and be aware that this will also retrieve items that have cited the article you are searching for. 

 

AGRICOLA (from ProQuest)

This database indexes citations for journal articles, books, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture, life sciences, nutrition, and environmental science. This database provides selective worldwide coverage of primary information sources in agriculture and related fields. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1970-present.
 

CAB Abstracts (CabDirect)

This database indexes citations and abstracts from journals, books, reports, handbooks, conference proceedings, field notes, and theses in agriculture, life sciences, natural resources, veterinary sciences, applied economics, nutrition, tourism, and the environment. Includes the CAB Abstracts Archive. Some full text available as PDFs. 1910s-present.
 

Google

 

Google Scholar