BCHM 5784: Grant writing bibliography

An updated and revised edition-offering new information on some of the most popular topics in grant writing. This new edition of The Complete Idiot's Guide(r) to Grant Writingprovides essential information on how to start a freelance business, covering such topics as getting that first assignment, pricing, state regulations, organizing and customizing proposals, researching funders, sponsorship, and much more. In the current economic environment, government and private sector grants will continue to be an important way to acquire funds for projects. Includes grant writing samples. This book's templates and other resources will now be easy to find and use on idiotsguides.com.

Grant writing is not as daunting a task as it may seem--at least not when you have experts to guide you. In the first half of this book, the authors explain what every grant writer needs to know and do to successfully secure funding. You will learn the following: * How to locate different kinds of grant sponsors * How to understand the Request for Proposals (RFP) * How to write a persuasive proposal The second part of the book begins where most books on grant writing end. Gajda and Tulikangas lead you through the steps to take immediately after a grant is awarded and the steps needed for long-term sustainability. They show you how to negotiate a budget, develop a media plan, and establish an organizational structure. They explain how to create an evaluation plan and how to develop indicators of success. The result is a clear blueprint for success as a grant writer and project manager. By book's end, you will enthusiastically agree with the authors: You can do this!

Guide to Effective Grant Writing: How to Write a Successful NIH Grant, 2nd edition is a fully updated follow-up to the popular original. It is written to help the 100,000+ post-graduate students and professionals who need to write effective proposals for grants. There is little or no formal teaching about the process of writing grants for NIH, and many grant applications are rejected due to poor writing and weak formulation of ideas. Procuring grant funding is the central key to survival for any academic researcher in the biological sciences; thus, being able to write a proposal that effectively illustrates one's ideas is essential. Covering all aspects of the proposal process, from the most basic questions about form and style to the task of seeking funding, this volume offers clear advice backed up with excellent examples. Included are a number of specimen proposals to help shed light on the important issues surrounding the writing of proposals. The Guide is a clear, straight-forward, and reader-friendly tool. Guide to Effective Grant Writing: How to Write a Successful NIH Grant Writing is based on Dr. Yang's extensive experience serving on NIH grant review panels; it covers the common mistakes and problems he routinely witnesses while reviewing grants.

A revised and updated edition of the essential guide to grant-writing.

This book is easy to read and understand. It is a great resource for individuals wishing to write grants. I have not seen another book that is this comprehensive and user-friendly." Score: 92, 4 Stars.--Michalene A. King, PhD, RN, CNE in Doody's Medical Reviews This fully updated and revised edition of a classic guide to grant writing for health and human service professionals reflects the two major changes in the field: new NIH application processes and an increased emphasis on interprofessional and team approaches to science. New case examples reflect grant writing strategies for a great variety of health and human service professions, and the text includes an enhanced focus on online methods for organizing grant submissions. A new section on special considerations for submitting grants addresses specific types of research including mixed methods, behavioral intervention research, secondary analyses, translational research, and comparative effectiveness studies. The new chapter on common writing challenges and solutions provides examples of strong and weak statements and highlights the importance of writing with precision. Additionally, this new edition provides an expanded section on post-award requirements and links to NIH videos about grant writing. Written for individuals in both academic and practice settings, the guide addresses, step-by-step, the fundamental principles for effectively securing funding. It is the only book to provide grant-writing information that encompasses many disciplines and to focus on building a research career with grant writing as a step-wise process. It provides detailed, time-tested strategies for building an investigative team, highlights the challenges of collaboration, and describes how to determine the expertise needed for a team and the roles of co-investigators. The book addresses the needs of both novice and more experienced researchers. New to the Fourth Edition: Reflects recent changes to the field including an emphasis on interprofessional approaches to science and new NIH application processes Offers additional case examples relevant to social work, nursing, psychology, rehabilitation, and occupational, physical, and speech therapies Provides links to NIH websites containing videos on grant writing Includes chapter opener objectives Expands section on post-award requirements Focuses on electronic mechanisms for organizing grant submissions including software such as RefWorks and google alerts Enlarges appendices to include charts, graphics, grant application samples and Aims page samples full of errors with answers provided

Written by an author with proven success in obtaining NIH grants and in developing grant application workshops in university settings and at association conventions the book utilizes specific supporting examples and cases and includes flow charts illustrating the grant application review process at NIH.

The Teaching Writing series publishes user-friendly writing guides penned by authors with publishing records in their subject matter. Most grants books--often hundreds of pages long--make grant writing seem too intimidating, but Gorsevski gets to the heart of the process. In simple steps, Writing Successful Grant Proposals highlights key things savvy proposal writers do to attract and secure prospective funders. With clear, concise instructions, this book demystifies grant proposal writing, from the initial development phase, to the writing and submissions phase, to the grant award phase, to the final delivery of project results phase. This small but mighty guide shares with readers effective strategies for adapting proposals to meet diversity, digital, and other evolving 21st Century constraints of grant review, offering pointers for staying on-task, getting the proposed project done on time and under budget, plus many other insider tips for smoothly navigating through the grants process. This handy guidebook is designed to help academics, non-profits, 'creatives,' and entrepreneurs to write successful grant proposals.