Diversity in Design: Home
Getting started with research
For help on searching and researching please out our guide on getting started with academic research.
Decentering Whiteness in Design History
Decentering Whiteness in Design History Resources
A bibliography of resources created by a group of White design historians in the USA who are working to decenter Whiteness in their design history courses and their work as scholars.
"By “decentering Whiteness,” we mean simultaneously decentering White people within the history of American design, and decentering North Americans and Europeans within the global history of design."
Other guides
Be sure to check out this other guide on diversity in design created at VCU. They have curated an excellent list of diversity in design websites.
International Archive of Women in Architecture
International Archive of Women in Architecture Programs
Fire in the Library: A Conversation with Alexander Bala and Christina Dorninger
Fire in the Library: A Conversation with Sharóne L. Tomer and Joseph Bedford
Fire in the Library: A Conversation with the 2016 IAWA Group
2017 International Archive of Women in Architecture Symposium
Head, Art & Architecture Library
100A Cowgill Hall
sarahstanley@vt.edu
Diversity in design
The Art & Architecture Library at Virginia Tech is committed to raising awareness and providing a platform for conversations on issues of diversity, equity, and inclusion. We do this by recognizing the history of underrepresented communities through our collections and exhibitions and providing access to resources so that our community can be better informed.
In this guide you will find some resources to help you start researching diversity within design disciplines. On this page you will find a wide range of resources on issues of diversity in design and the tabs above contain list of some books and ebooks owned by the library.
This guide is not exhaustive and is always growing and changing. If you know of a resource you would like to see added please get in touch with Scott Fralin.
Databases
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender from GaleThe Archives of Sexuality & Gender provides primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Includes LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 and Sex and Sexuality: 16th to 20th Century.
- ARTbibliographies Modern from ProQuestARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1960s-present.
- Art Index Retrospective from EBSCOhost
This link opens in a new window
Art Index Retrospective is an index of over a half-century of historic scholarly literature covering fine, decorative and commercial art. It is the electronic version of the print annual publication Art Index from its first volume, 1929, through 1984. It consists of citations of over 25,000 book reviews and high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed for the fields of art history, architectural history, and the visual arts. - DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index from ProQuestDAAI indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, news reports, and reviews on design and applied arts (including performing arts-related design). You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1973-present.
- GenderWatch from ProQuestGenderWatch indexes citations and full-text articles on gender and women's studies and GLBT research. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government, and special reports. Content is HTML and PDF. 1970-present.
Racial Justice
Below are links to prominent writings and near-exhaustive lists of resources at the intersection of race and art, architecture, and design.
African American Design Nexus | Explores the intersection of design, identity, and practice
Anti-Racism, Equity, and Inclusion Resources Archive | Crowd-sourced resources collected by AIGA Design Educators Community
Black Landscape Matter by Kofi Boone in Ground Up
Black Lives Matter | Collection of Essays by Architectural Historians and Organized by Aggregate Architectural History Collaborative
Mapping Inequality | Interactive map that visually represents redlining in New American Deal
Race and Architecture: Studying the Historical Intersection of Form and Culture | A Blog by Charles Davis
Race/Space Reading List | Extensive crowd-sourced list started by Anna Maria Leon at the University of Michigan