Economics (for Canvas): Home
Library Hours
Library Hours
Library Reserves & eReserves
- Reserves for ECON CoursesLibrary Reserves are available for 1-day check out at Newman Library Circulation Desk. (Some reserves may also be available electronically if your professor or TA has submitted them to the library.)
- Online Textbooks (Fall 2024)Library-owned eBooks adopted for class (all disciplines).
Overview for economics
- Recently published BOOKS on economicsThis list includes items available via the Libraries and from interlibrary loan.
- Recently published BOOKS on economicsThis list includes items immediately available through the University Libraries. (No interlibrary loan is necessary.)
- Recently published JOURNAL ARTICLES on economicsThis list includes items available via the Libraries and from interlibrary loan.
- Recently published JOURNAL ARTICLES on economicsThis list includes items immediately available through the University Libraries. (No interlibrary loan is necessary.)
Recommended online resources
- EconLit with Full Text from EBSCOhost
This link opens in a new window
EconLit indexes citations, abstracts, and full text of journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers on all aspects of economics. You can do cited reference searches and limit to scholarly sources. 1886-present.
- Sage Research Methods VideosThis resource provides streaming video tutorials, interviews, case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process. . . and they include Economics!
- RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) IDEAS databaseIDEAS is the largest freely available bibliographic database dedicated to economics.
- OECD iLibraryOECD iLibrary indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text journal articles, reports, and ebooks in all areas of world economics. Full text available in HTML and PDF, plus statistics in Excel. Our subscription includes six journals, though many content areas are freely available to any site visitor, such as the OECD Factbook, Working Papers, OECD Key Tables, and more. We do not subscribe to the entire contents of this database. 1997-present.
- Social Science Research NetworkSocial Science Research Network indexes citation, abstracts, and some full text of pre-prints and other scholarly research papers.
- RFE: Resources for Economists on the Internet (AEA)The American Economic Association's RFE site lists 2,000+ online resources of interest to academic and practicing economists and those interested in economics.
Economics Journals available thru the University Libraries
Request Library Services
Software available
- Data Transformation LabR Studio, STATAMP, SPSS available in Newman Library 3010. To schedule access on a workstation email datatransformation@vt.edu with a list of times you would like access.
Early literature databases
- Core Historical Literature of AgricultureThe Core Historical Literature of Agriculture is a core electronic collection of scanned agricultural texts. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science, forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. 1620-1999.
Library Chat
Text Us
1-540-986-4616 Text us your question!
Call Us
1-540-231-9232 Newman Library Reference Desk
1-540-231-6308 Special Collections
1-540-231-9271 Art & Architecture Library
1-703-538-8340 Northern Virginia Center Library
1-540-231-6610 Veterinary Medicine Library
1-540-231-6308 Special Collections
1-540-231-9271 Art & Architecture Library
1-703-538-8340 Northern Virginia Center Library
1-540-231-6610 Veterinary Medicine Library
Your Librarian
Anita Walz
Contact:
NEED HELP? Contact me!
Newman Library 4015
Economics & Law Liaison
~ Assistant Director of Open Education and Scholarly Communication Librarian ~
Newman Library 4015
Economics & Law Liaison
~ Assistant Director of Open Education and Scholarly Communication Librarian ~
540-231-2204
Subjects: Business and economics