Skip to main content

Ebooks

We subscribe to over a million ebooks. Most of our ebooks are PDFs, and require no additional software. See each entry for formats and restrictions.

Access to ebooks while the libraries are closed

While the university is closed for the COVID-19 outbreak, our print collections are inaccessible. While we won't have an ebook for every print book we own, we have several options for finding ebooks:

  • Virginia Tech ebook collection has more than 2 million ebooks. Use the search below to find ebooks by title or use Discovery Search on our home page to find ebooks by topic. We still accept requests to purchase additional ebooks.
  • Internet Archive National Emergency Library provides access to scanned books. You'll need to create a free profile and downloads expire after a limited amount of time.
  • HathiTrust provides full downloads of out-of-copyright books and in-browser reading of in-copyright books that we have in our local print collection. Use the yellow Login button, choose Virginia Tech, then log in with your PID/password/2nd factor.  You can search by title. If HathiTrust has a scanned copy of a book in our collection, you'll see a Temporary Access link that will allow in-browser reading (you cannot download in-copyright books). The book will checkout to you for one hour and be inaccessible to other people for that duration. If no one else is waiting for access, the checkout will automatically renew.

The Virginia Tech Libraries have subscribed to a number of ebook packages, giving us access to hundreds of thousands of books online.

All allow reading the ebook through the browser, and many allow downloading for offline reading or transfer to a mobile device or dedicated ebook reader. Most of our ebooks are PDFs, and thus require no additional software to view. See each entry for formats and restrictions.

Search ebooks by title

Search the Ebook Title Database

OR

 

Use Discovery Search to search for books on a topic | Find specific sources of ebooks

The Ebook Title Database includes all the ebooks to which we subscribe, plus many open access ebooks that anyone can access. You can search by the specific title of a ebook or its standard number (ISBN). It does not search the text within those ebooks.