Due Diligence Searching: Foreign Gifts & Contracts Reporting

Section 117 of the Higher Education Act of 1965 (20 U.S.C. § 1011f) requires institutions of higher education (IHEs) to fully report statutorily defined gifts, contracts, and/or restricted and conditional gifts or contracts from or with a foreign source to the U.S. Department of Education.

This resource provides links to databases and search strategies to aid in due diligence searching for companies and foundations owned or controlled outside of the United States.

University-Wide Subscription Databases

Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
Factiva provides full-text news articles and business/industry information from newswires, newspapers, business and industry magazines, television and radio transcripts, financial reports, and photos from news services. Most content is HTML, though other formats are available for export. News sources 1979-present; financial data 1960s-present.
Factiva provides full-text news articles and business information. From the Search tab, use the Free Text search box to explore an archive of over 50 years of news and other sources.

From the News Pages tab, you can browse current issues of major newspapers and business magazines from around the world.

From the Companies/Markets tab, you can research competitors, suppliers, customers, and partners through market data, interactive charts, financial statements, and more for individual companies or industries. Data includes current and historical pricing on a variety of financial instruments like stocks, funds, currencies, and market indexes.

Publicly Available Resources

Reporting to the Department of Education

Background and Notices of Investigations & Record Requests
Foreign Gift Reporting FAQ
PEBC Reporting System
Webinar Slides on Section 117
117 Discussion Topics
• Foreign Sources
• Transaction Amount
• Gift Reporting
• Contract Reporting
• Restricted Gifts and Contracts
• Covered Institutions and Entities
• Reporting Portal and System
• Compliance Generally