Government Documents: Home
Our federal government produces information in all subject areas and formats. The University Libraries of Virginia Tech are dedicated to making this information available to through our physical collection as well as the digital resources listed below.
Recommended Databases
- U.S. Government InformationGovInfo provides free access to federal government publications. It indexes the full text (in HTML and PDF) of congressional, executive departments and agencies, and Supreme Court documents. 1907-present.
- ProQuest Congressional
This link opens in a new window
The ProQuest Congressional Research Digital Collection provides access to the Reports of the Legislative Reference Service (LRS) and Congressional Research Service (CRS) from 1916-present, and Congressional committee prints from 1830-present. it includes bills, laws, and legislative histories; Congressional hearings; Testimony; The Congressional Record; and maps.
- USA.govUSA.gov is an easy-to-search, free-access website designed to give you a centralized place to find information from U.S. local, state, and federal government agency websites.
- MetaLib from GPOSearch across multiple government databases (currently 53 databases, including reference databases, digital repositories, or subject-based Web gateways) to find reports, articles, and citations. Search individual databases or create sets of databases with the A-Z Resource List. Access and search the "native" interface of these databases from the originating institution/agency. Email or export records in various formats
- GPO Monthly Catalog
- This link opens in a new window
The catalog for U.S. government publications. Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.). Includes a bibliographic citation in each record. 1976-present. - HathiTrust
This link opens in a new window
The HathiTrust Digital Library contains over seven million volumes and over one billion pages of scanned books and other materials. About 20 percent of all content is in the public domain (and accessible to you). You can also browse several public collections. Content is available in several image formats, text, and PDF. 1200s-present.
