Skip to main content

QTPOC Stories: Home

Graphical title for The Virginia Tech QTPOC Oral History Project

TELL US YOUR STORY

The Virginia Tech QTPOC Oral History Project

American archives are rooted in Western European concepts of information preservation and access. This has resulted in historical archives that overwhelmingly represent the experience of affluent, white, heterosexual, cisgender, and Christian males. Knowing this inherent bias persists within archival practice, Special Collections and University Archives at Virginia Tech is taking intentional steps to gather the stories and history of people of color within the LGBTQ+ community.

Project Mission

Special Collections and University Archives at Virginia Tech is collaborating with Alumni Relations to collect oral history accounts from queer and trans people of color in the New River Valley and Southwest Virginia. This project is ongoing, as part of a committed effort to tell the full and diverse story of Virginia Tech’s history. This project supports Virginia Tech’s Strategic Priority 2, Elevate the Ut Prosim (That I May Serve) Difference by increasing representational diversity in our archival holdings.

HOW TO TAKE PART

Registration

Registration to take part in The Virginia Tech QTPOC Oral History Project is being coordinated by Latanya Walker, Director for Alumni Relations for Diversity and Inclusion (DARDI). To schedule a time to share your story, please complete the registration form.

Interview Logistics

If you are near Virginia Tech's Blacksburg campus, we'll invite you to join us at Newman Library where we can best control the lighting and background noise for your interview. If coming to campus isn't an option, we will be happy to arrange travel to your location or provide you with specifications so that your interview quality will be similar to the others collected by the project.

 

Registration

To schedule a time to share your story, please complete the registration form.


Anthony Wright de Hernandez's picture
Anthony Wright de Hernandez
Contact:
Community Collections Archivist
Special Collections and University Archives (0434)