Art & Art History: Additional Resources

Advanced Databases & Indexes

ARTbibliographies Modern from ProQuest
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Full coverage begins in 1974 when the first volume was digitized, but entries date back to the late 1960s.

ABM is the premier source of information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, including photography since its invention. It includes abstracts of English and foreign-language material on famous and lesser-known artists, movements, and trends. The coverage of ABM is wide-ranging and includes performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.
Art Index Retrospective from EBSCOhost
Arts & Humanities Citation Index from Clarivate Analytics
Arts & Humanities Citation Citation Index indexes citations and abstracts of journal literature of the arts and humanities, including original research articles, reviews, editorials, chronologies, abstracts, scripts, and more. It fully covers 1,160 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
It also includes citations that refer to or review books, works of art, music scores, and performances.

Online Resources

Google Arts & Culture
Step inside must-see museums around the world.

Library of Congress Digitized Collections
The Library of Congress's digitized American historical materials are organized into more than 100 thematic collections. Original formats include manuscripts, prints, photographs, posters, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, books, pamphlets, and sheet music. Collections may be browsed individually, searched individually (including full-text searching for many written items), or searched across multiple collections. 1400s-present.
The original formats include manuscripts, prints, photographs, posters, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, books, pamphlets, and sheet music. Each online collection is accompanied by a set of explanatory features designed to make the materials easy to find, use, and understand. Collections may be browsed individually, searched individually (including full-text searching for many written items), or searched across multiple collections.

LIBRARYSTACK
Combining database, archive, publisher and distributor, Library Stack connects digital materials from art, design, theory and architecture to global library cataloging systems.
Mutual Art
Discover and follow over 300,000 artists and find exhibitions.

Smithsonian Institution Digital Library
The Smithsonian Library's Digital Library contains digital publications, collections and objects including online exhibitions, webcasts, digital editions, bibliographies and fact sheets, and finding aids/inventories for collections such as our trade literature collection and artist files.
SIL also manages the web presence for selected Smithsonian publications:

Atoll Research Bulletin
Smithsonian Annals of Flight
Smithsonian Contributions to Anthropology
Smithsonian Contributions to Astrophysics
Smithsonian Contributions to Botany
Smithsonian Contributions to History and Technology (1969 - present ; formerly Smithsonian Studies in History and Technology)
Smithsonian Contributions to Paleobiology
Smithsonian Contributions to the Earth Sciences
Smithsonian Contributions to the Marine Sciences
Smithsonian Contributions to Zoology
Smithsonian Folklife Studies
Smithsonian Studies in Air and Space
Smithsonian Proceedings and related publications from the SI Scholarly Press

More Image Resources

Art Institute of Chicago
The archives contain a wide range of media, including photographs, architectural drawings, correspondence, writings, scrapbooks, business papers, audio recordings, film, video, and ephemera.
Creative Commons
CC Search is a tool that allows openly licensed and public domain works to be discovered and used by everyone. Check to see the specific permissions on each image.
Getty Open Content
The Getty makes available, without charge, all available digital images to which the Getty holds the rights or that are in the public domain to be used for any purpose. No permission is required.
NYPL Public Domain Collections
Pixabay
Wikimedia Commons