This guide has been created to highlight resources most commonly used by those at Virginia Tech studying the following aspects of business information technology: computer systems, business modeling, decision sciences, and problem solving.
Business Source Complete is a citation, abstracts, and full-text database that indexes journals; books; financial data; reference works; conference proceedings; company, industry, investment, marketing, and country reports; SWOT analyses; and case studies. Full text is provides as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1886-present; most content is 1980s-present.
ProQuest One Business combines multiple ProQuest business information databases to a total of more than 130 million documents. It contains more than 2,400 journals and magazines, several hundred news sources, thousands of ebooks and videos, and hundreds of thousands of reports from renowned publishers such as J.P. Morgan, Economist Intelligence Unit, Oxford Economics, Hoovers, and others. ProQuest One Business indexes citations, abstracts, and full text news articles, market and SWOT analyses, industry reports, country reports, downloadable data sets, dissertations, business cases, working papers, annual reports from North American companies, and company profiles and histories.
ProQuest developed a new business subject thesaurus as well as a new corporation thesaurus for ProQuest One Business. All documents included in this collection were reindexed, using these new thesauri. In addition, all company, industry and country reports were reindexed allowing you to limit your search to specific content that must appear in the reports like e.g. a SWOT analysis or a financial forecast. This makes it significantly easier to get more precise and relevant results.
For several thousand companies ProQuest One Business offers special portal pages - so called Company Overviews - and each of these pages provides you with direct access to different types of material for the respective company:
Company Overview
Recent News from Major Publications
Company Reports (grouped by type of information)
All Content for this Company (a bibliometric graph)
Scholarly Journal Articles
Magazines and Trade Journal Articles
Related Companies in this Industry
Factiva provides full-text news articles and business/industry information from newswires, newspapers, business and industry magazines, television and radio transcripts, financial reports, and photos from news services. Most content is HTML, though other formats are available for export. News sources 1979-present; financial data 1960s-present.
Factiva provides full-text news articles and business information. From the Search tab, use the Free Text search box to explore an archive of over 50 years of news and other sources.
From the News Pages tab, you can browse current issues of major newspapers and business magazines from around the world.
From the Companies/Markets tab, you can research competitors, suppliers, customers, and partners through market data, interactive charts, financial statements, and more for individual companies or industries. Data includes current and historical pricing on a variety of financial instruments like stocks, funds, currencies, and market indexes.
Inspec indexes literature for physics, computer science, electronics, and information technology. It includes scholarly articles, books, conference articles and proceedings, reports, standards, and some patents.
Wharton Research Data Service provides business data. It includes stock exchange (market-wide and company specific), balance sheet (company specific), income statement (company specific), bank, and macro economic information. CRSP (security prices), Compustat ExecuComp (financial, statistical, marketing information), I/B/E/S (earnings estimates), Dow Jones Averages (stock index data), FDIC (financial data), PHLX (Philadelphia Stock Exchange data), IRRC (Investor Responsibility Research Center), NYSE TAQ (trades and quotes), Eventus (event studies), TRACE (corporate bond market prices), and CISDM Hedge Fund/CTA Database.
Access limited to VT faculty and PhD students; you must first submit an account request.
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) is a web-based business data research service from The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania. Developed in 1993 to support faculty research at Wharton, the service has evolved to become a common tool for research for over 290 institutions around the world.
To use WRDS, you must first submit an account request.
WRDS is the de facto standard for business data, providing researchers worldwide with instant access to financial, economic, and marketing data though a uniform, web-based interface. This hosted data service has become the locus for quantitative data research and is recognized by the academic and financial research community around the world as the leading business intelligence tool.
This database provides videos that covers a range of innovative and cutting edge techniques and projects across data science methods, issues and challenges surrounding big data research, and applications of computational social science research. With a focus on what new methods and data sources can tell us about human behavior, the collection contains interviews with academics developing these methods, and short documentaries exploring industry applications of data science. From basic programming techniques for those starting out, through to advanced techniques in deep learning, you will find helpful tutorials, tailored to those with different disciplinary backgrounds and experience.
Sage Data provides data sets including subjects such as business, health, education, agriculture and the environment, government and international relations, and crime.
DataONE connects multiple data repositories in a federated network to provide integrated search and discovery and to provide replication services to the data repositories within the federation. Data are stored, and made visible, by the individual data repositories (see 'Contribute Data'). In DataONE language, these repositories are termed 'Member Nodes' (not all Member Nodes within DataONE are repositories but all repositories collaborating with DataONE are Member Nodes). At launch, DataONE comprised eight Member Nodes and more are being added (see 'Current Member Nodes' for a full list and link to operation documents).
