Business law: Additional resources

This guide has been created to highlight resources most commonly used by those at Virginia Tech studying the following aspects of insurance: safety, risk assessment, and risk management.

Legal databases

Legal Collection from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
The Legal Collection indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text journal articles and case studies. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. Full text presented in HTML and PDF. 1965-present.
Legal Collection offers full text for more than 300 of the world’s best law journals. This database provides information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment, and much more. Full-text journals contained in this database include: American Journal of Criminal Law, California Law Review, and many more. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1965.
Westlaw
Westlaw is a primary online legal research service containing proprietary database services. Information resources on Westlaw include more than 40,000 databases of case law, state and federal statutes, administrative codes, newspaper and magazine articles, public records, law journals, law reviews, treatises, legal forms and other information resources.
Westlaw is contractually restricted to persons accessing data for educational purposes directly related to student coursework or for scholarly research.
Password required. Contact Anita Walz arwalz@vt.edu
An alternative to Westlaw is FastCase.