Aquaculture: Recommended
Aquaculture research at Virginia Tech crosses a variety of departments including Food Science & Technology, Fish & Wildlife Conservation, and Extension. This guide has been created to highlight resources that are useful to researchers in these areas.
Overview for Aquaculture
- Aquaculture Compendium Online from CABIAquaculture Compendiam is an encyclopedic resource covering all aspects of aquaculture, including aquatic animal and plant production, natural resources and environment, biodiversity, trade, food security and safety, and social issues. It provides datasheets, book chapters, article citations, case studies, a glossary, geographic and country data, and pictures. Some full text in PDF. 1932-present.
Recommended online resources
- CAB Abstracts from CABICAB Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, books, reports, handbooks, conference proceedings, field notes, and theses in agriculture, life sciences, natural resources, veterinary sciences, applied economics, nutrition, tourism, and the environment. Includes the CAB Abstracts Archive. Some full text available as PDFs. 1910s-present.
- AGRICOLA from ProQuest
This link opens in a new window
AGRICOLA indexes citations for journal articles, books, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture, life sciences, nutrition, and environmental science. This database provides selective worldwide coverage of primary information sources in agriculture and related fields. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1970-present. - ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts from ProQuest
- This link opens in a new window
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstract indexes citations and abstracts of all aspects of aquatic resources, including life sciences, economics, and social science/public policy aspects. Sources include journals, books, conference papers, reports, patents, dissertations, and maps. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1971-present. - Fish, Fisheries & Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide from EBSCOhostFish, Fisheries & Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from journals, conference proceedings, books, and reports on the agricultural, biological, and natural resource aspects of fish and fisheries. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1700s-present; most content is 1970-present.
- FSTA: Food Science and Technology AbstractsFood Science and Technology Abstracts indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, conference proceedings, books, legislation, patents, reports, and theses and dissertations on the medical and biological aspects of food and nutrition. Full text is available as HTML and PDF. Coverage includes human and pet foods. 1969-present.
Your Librarian
Ask a Librarian
Interlibrary Loan Services
All current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff, regardless of your location, may request through ILLiad for materials:
- not owned by Virginia Tech (books, articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
- owned by Virginia Tech but are unavailable for use (print books)
- owned by Virginia Tech and available in print (scans of articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
We ship requests via UPS to users outside the immediate Blacksburg area (Montgomery, Giles and Pulaski counties).
Articles, book chapters, and many technical papers are delivered in PDF format to your ILLiad account. Occasionally, due to copyright restrictions, a paper copy of an article or standard is held for your at the Newman User Services Desk or sent o the mailing address listed on your account.