Human development: Recommended
Human Development at Virginia Tech is the study of adult development and aging, child and adolescent development, family studies, and marriage and family therapy. This guide provides recommended resources for research in this discipline.
Human Development Librarian
Amanda MacDonald
Contact:
560 Drillfield Drive
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Office: Newman Library 3043
Subjects: Social sciences and education
Make an appointment with me!
To sign up for an appointment during my regularly-scheduled office hours, please follow the link to my calendar. If none of those times work, please email me at the address above to find another time.
APA 7th Edition Citation Basics
- APA Style Basics, 7th EditionThis library-produced guide covers the basics of in-text citations and common reference list entries.
- Quick Reference Guide, APA StyleThis quick reference guide demonstrates how to cite journal articles, books, and chapters from edited books in the APA 7th edition reference list.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Call Number: BF76.7.P83 2020ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019
Interlibrary Loan Services
All current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff, regardless of your location, may request through ILLiad for materials:
- not owned by Virginia Tech (books, articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
- owned by Virginia Tech but are unavailable for use (print books)
- owned by Virginia Tech and available in print (scans of articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
We ship requests via UPS to users outside the immediate Blacksburg area (Montgomery, Giles and Pulaski counties).
Articles, book chapters, and many technical papers are delivered in PDF format to your ILLiad account. Occasionally, due to copyright restrictions, a paper copy of an article or standard is held for your at the Newman User Services Desk or sent o the mailing address listed on your account.
General Human Development Databases
- APA PsycBOOKS from EBSCOhost
This link opens in a new window
PsycBOOKS provides access to over 2500 full-text, scholarly books, plus thousands of book chapters and the complete Encyclopedia of Psychology. Each chapter is available as a PDF. You can limit to age group, classification code, methodology, population group, and audience. 1597-present. - PsycCRITIQUESPsycCRITIQUES provides full-text reviews of current books and some popular films, videos, and software as well as comparative reviews of books in the field of psychology. The focus is on current books—most new reviews are of books in current year. Reviews are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. Full text available in HTML. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1956-2017.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection database indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, magazines, and book reviews in the field of psychiatry and psychology, anthropology, emotional and behavioral characteristics. Full-text articles are available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1930-present. - APA PsycINFO from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO indexes citations, abstracts, cited references, and some full text from articles, books, dissertations, and reviews on all aspects of psychology. Full text provided as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources, age group, classification code, methodology, and population group. 1840-present. - SAGE Research Methods Online
This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods indexes full-text books, reference sources, the "little green book" series (Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences), the "little blue book" series (Qualitative Research Methods), journal articles, and videos. Since this platform focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used by researchers from the social sciences, health sciences, and more. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit searches by research method type. 1970s-present.
Marriage and Family Studies/Therapy
- Family & Society Studies Worldwide from EBSCOhostFamily & Society Studies Worldwide indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles (PDFs) from journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, statistical documents, theses and dissertations, and other sources in the social sciences and education. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1900s-present.
- Family Studies Abstracts from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
Family Studies Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts of journal articles and book reviews on the social science aspects of families. 1930-present - APA PsycTHERAPY from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
PsycTHERAPY provides unscripted videos of therapy sessions, with searchable transcripts and the ability to create playlists.
- Psychotherapy.netPsychotherapy.net provides streaming video featuring a variety of therapeutic approaches and topics.
Social Services
- Violence and Abuse Abstracts from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
Violence and Abuse Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts of journal articles on the social science and health aspects of violence and abuse. You can do cited reference searches and limit to scholarly sources. 1995-present.
Child and Adolescent Development
- Child Development & Adolescent Studies from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
Child Development and Adolescent Studies indexes citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, technical reports, theses, and dissertations. 1927-present.
- Child Welfare Information GatewayA service of the Children's Bureau within the Administration for Children and Families of the Department of Health and Human Services. The Gateway provides access to resources including print and electronic publications, websites, databases and more covering topics from prevention to permanency, including child welfare, child abuse and neglect, adoption, search and reunion, and much more.
- ERIC via EBSCOhostERIC indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, conference and meeting papers, government documents, theses and dissertations, reports, A/V materials, books, and more on all aspects of education. Many documents are available in full text (HTML and PDF). You can limit to peer-reviewed sources for documents published since 2004. 1966-present.
Adult Development and Aging
- Abstracts in Social Gerontology from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts in Social Gerontology includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other key areas of relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 110,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as: Journals of Gerontology Series, American Journal of Geriatric Psychiatry, Experimental Gerontology, etc. EBSCO has digitized the full archive of this index, bringing coverage back to 1990. - AgeLine from EBSCOhostAgeLine focuses exclusively on the population aged 50+ and issues of aging. It covers the literature of social gerontology and includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy. This database indexes journals, books, book chapters, reports, dissertations, consumer guides, and educational videos. Some full text available as PDF and HTML. Publication coverage is from 1978-present, with selected coverage from 1966-1977.
Gender and Sexuality
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender from GaleThe Archives of Sexuality & Gender provides primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Includes LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 and Sex and Sexuality: 16th to 20th Century.
- GenderWatch from ProQuestGenderWatch indexes citations and full-text articles on gender and women's studies and GLBT research. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government, and special reports. Content is HTML and PDF. 1970-present.