Physics: Recommended

Physics Subject Guide

Description

Physics is the study of matter and its motion based on fundamental concepts such as force, energy, mass and charge. Some topics include acoustics, aerodynamics, chemical physics, fluid mechanics, geophysics, optics, particle physics, plasma, quantum mechanics and solid state physics. Students and researchers with an interest in these or other fields dealing with physics will find resources here that may be useful to them.

Browzine

Engineering reference sheets

Some engineering material can be difficult to locate. These reference sheets give general information about the resource as well as instructions on how to retrieve the material from the Virginia Tech library collection.

Overview for physics

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable and browsable ebook version of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. Interactive tables allow live sorting, filtering, and exporting of the data.

If you get a server error on access, clear your browser's cookies, then return to this page and click through again.

Recommended online resources

Inspec from Engineering Village
Inspec indexes literature for physics, computer science, electronics, and information technology. It includes scholarly articles, books, conference articles and proceedings, reports, standards, and some patents.
arXiv.org from Cornell University
ArXiv is a highly-automated electronic, open archive and distribution server for research articles in engineering and the physical sciences. Full text available in a variety of formats, including PDF, HTML, and PS.
Derwent Innovations Index from Web of Science
Derwent Innovations Index indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text patents from 40 worldwide patent-issuing authorities. You can view concise abstracts written by subject experts, then link to full-text primary records of patents from a range of full patent sources. 1963-present
Derwent Innovations Index facilitates rapid, precise patent searching, letting you conduct patent and citation searches of inventions in chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering. Derwent Innovations Index covers over 14.3 million basic inventions from 40 worldwide patent-issuing authorities. You can view concise abstracts written by subject experts, then link to full-text primary patent records from a range of full patent sources.

This resource merges the value-added patent information from Derwent World Patents Index with the patent citation information from Derwent Patent Citation Index. You can use additional descriptive information and coding to quickly grasp a patent's significance and its relationship to other patents. Reduce duplication of R&D; track competitors' activities; detect and avoid patent infringement; identify potential gaps in the marketplace and possible licensing opportunities.
IEEE Xplore
- This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE and IEE journals, transactions, magazines, ebooks, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications. Full text content is provided as PDFs.Full-text journals back to 1884, conference proceedings back to 1951.
OSTI Office of Scientific and Technical Information citation search
OSTI.GOV makes available over 70 years of research results from DOE and its predecessor agencies discoverable. OSTI.GOV contains nearly 3 million citations, including citations to 1.5 million journal articles, 1 million of which have digital object identifiers (DOIs) linking to full-text articles on publishers' websites. Documents available in a variety of formats, including PDF, MS Word, HTML, Postscript, TIFF, and XML.
Scopus
Scopus indexes citations of journal articles, conference papers, and books in the sciences, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities. You can perform cited reference searches. You can compare authors, institutions, and journals using various metrics. 1800s-present
SPIE Digital Library
SPIE Digital Library provides full-text journals and conference proceedings on the physical sciences of optics and photonics. Full text available as PDFs. 1990-present.
Some proceedings volumes are not available in the SPIE Digital Library as SPIE does not have electronic rights to this material.

SPIE has collaborated with the American Institute of Physics (AIP) to help develop the Digital Library, which is being hosted on AIP's Scitation platform. Inclusion on Scitation ensures customers of a proven online publishing system with an excellent reliability record, powerful search engine, and many useful features.
Web of Science from Clarivate Analytics
The three Web of Science databases index citations from journal articles and conference proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. You can perform cited reference searches, analyze trends and patterns, and create visual representations of citation relationships. 1900-present

Director of Collections

Edward Lener

Email Me

Contact:

3011 Newman Library
560 Drillfield Drive
Blacksburg, VA 24061

(540) 231-9249

Subjects: Engineering and physical sciences

Ask a Librarian

Interlibrary Loan Services

All current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff, regardless of your location, may request through ILLiad for materials:

not owned by Virginia Tech (books, articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
owned by Virginia Tech but are unavailable for use (print books)
owned by Virginia Tech and available in print (scans of articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)

We ship requests via UPS to users outside the immediate Blacksburg area (Montgomery, Giles and Pulaski counties).

Articles, book chapters, and many technical papers are delivered in PDF format to your ILLiad account. Occasionally, due to copyright restrictions, a paper copy of an article or standard is held for your at the Newman User Services Desk or sent o the mailing address listed on your account.