Astronomy is the study of celestial objects and phenomena, often on a large scale. Some topics include the solar system, planets, moons, comets and asteroids, stars, telescopes and electromagnetic radiation. Students and researchers with an interest in planetary science, observational astronomy, and cosmology may find this page useful.
Knovel provides a large collection of ebooks on engineering and related subjects. Each chapter is presented as a separate PDF. The entire collection is full-text searchable, and many results include interactive tables. Includes tables of properties for over 13,000 chemical compounds. Knovel is also searchable through the Engineering Village interface.
Our subscription includes:
Adhesives, Coatings, Sealants & Inks
Aerospace & Radar Technology
ASM International Alloy Information
ASM International Handbooks Online
Biochemistry, Biology & Biotechnology
Ceramics & Ceramic Engineering
Chemistry & Chemical Engineering
Civil Engineering & Construction Materials
Composites
Computer Hardware Engineering
Earth Sciences
Electrical & Power Engineering
Electronics & Semiconductors
Engineering Management & Leadership
Environment & Environmental Engineering
Fire Protection Engineering & Emergency Response
Food Science
General Engineering & Project Administration
Industrial Engineering & Operations Management
Manufacturing Engineering
Marine Engineering & Naval Architecture
Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering
Metals & Metallurgy
Mining Engineering & Extractive Metallurgy
Nanotechnology
Nondestructive Testing & Evaluation
Oil & Gas Engineering
Optics & Photonics
Pharmaceuticals, Cosmetics & Toiletries
Plastics & Rubber
Process Design, Control & Automation
Regulatory Information
Safety & Industrial Hygiene
Software Engineering
Sustainable Energy & Development
Textiles
Transportation Engineering
Welding Engineering & Materials Joining
Inspec indexes literature for physics, computer science, electronics, and information technology. It includes scholarly articles, books, conference articles and proceedings, reports, standards, and some patents.
ArXiv is a highly-automated electronic, open archive and distribution server for research articles in engineering and the physical sciences. Full text available in a variety of formats, including PDF, HTML, and PS.
Scopus indexes citations of journal articles, conference papers, and books in the sciences, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities. You can perform cited reference searches. You can compare authors, institutions, and journals using various metrics. 1800s-present
The three Web of Science databases index citations from journal articles and conference proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. You can perform cited reference searches, analyze trends and patterns, and create visual representations of citation relationships. 1900-present
SIMBAD indexes bibliographic references and data on astronomical topics: stars, galaxies, planetary nebulae, clusters, and novae and supernovae. Each object indexes has description data, cross identifications, observational data, plus a general bibliography of references,
For each object, the following data are included when available:
basic data:
stars: object types, coordinates, proper motion, radial velocities, parallaxes, spectral type, magnitudes and fluxes for several wavelengths and notes;
Coordinates are stored in the ICRS system.
galaxies: object types, coordinates, redshifts, integrated magnitudes and fluxes for several wavelengths, morphological type, and dimension;
cross identifications of stars and galaxies from more than 7000 source catalogues and tables, either completely or partially included in the data base. A complete list of the nomenclature used is available as the Second Reference Dictionary of the Nomenclature of Celestial Objects outside the Solar System (Lortet et al., 1994).
observational data (also called measurements), for about thirty different data types.
general bibliography for the object, including references to all published papers from the journals regularly scanned (currently about 80 titles), and access to abstracts for a few recent periodicals (A&A, ApJ, AJ, PASP). Articles are scanned in their entirety, and references to all objects mentioned are included in the bibliography. A link is provided to the ADS services as well as the journal sites.
SIMBAD offers the following functionalities:
Query by identifiers and around identifiers
Query by coordinates, specifying the radius and the equinox
Query by bibcode and partial bibcode
Sampling with a set of physical criteria
Query by lists of objects, coordinates or bibcodes
Display charts for list of objects resulting from coordinates query
Moreover, the interface provides links with many other data services :
Links to the other CDS services: Tables in VizieR, giving access to the whole catalogued data, links to Aladin images, surveys and observatory logs.
Through the coordinates in basic data, you can query around an object, using a provided radius.
Identifiers are linked to the nomenclature dictionary, providing full description of original list, and, when available, offering direct access to the corresponding catalogue in the CDS catalogue service (VizieR and Bazaar)
Every bibcode is a link to the underlying bibliographic information, either at CDS, at ADS, or at the journal site when available. Links to the full text of paper are available in most cases.
For articles containing tables stored at CDS, the reference provides also a link to the table or catalogue.
A link to the Heasarc database (NASA/GSFC) is proposed when an object has identifiers in high energy catalogues.
IUE measurements contain an anchor which points to the spectra stored in the INES database.
The maps produced by coordinate queries are cliquable and return the object information from SIMBAD.
