Women in Architecture and Design: Recommended Resources
Breaking Ground
Breaking Ground is a pioneering visual manifesto of more than 200 incredible buildings designed by women all over the world. Featuring twentieth-century icons such as Julia Morgan, Eileen Gray and Lina Bo Bardi, and the best contemporary talent, from Kazuyo Sejima to Elizabeth Diller and Grafton Architects, this book is, above all else, a ground-breaking celebration of extraordinary architecture.
Architecture: a Woman's Profession
Well-known women architects from Europe and the USA discuss these matters and report their academic and professional experiences, how they see the way ahead and argue - from individual points of view - for a debate on educational structures and how the practice of architecture is composed.
Design{h}ers
DESIGN(H)ERS is a stunning showcase of up-and-coming talent spanning across a variety of design mediums to highlight the distinction and diversity that women bring to their respective fields. Coupled with compelling stories revolving around the journeys of luminaries who have already made their mark, this book serves to intrigue and inspire the creatives of the future.
Women in Graphic Design 1890-2012
Why are there so few women in the history of design? Why do previously well-known women become 'forgotten', and at what point can someone be considered 'successful'? Do women create differently to men? What effects of the gender debate are noticeable in today's everyday working life, and are women judged today solely on the basis of their quality of work?
Women in Design
This book attempts to tell a very different story, one that appraises their activities within the wider landscape of the feminist movement - both past and present. It is only now that women designers working in developed free-market economies are beginning to enjoy anything like equality with their male counterparts when it comes to professional access and recognition, let alone parity of remuneration.
Women, Modernism, and Landscape Architecture
This book looks closely at the work and influences of some of the least studied figures of the era: established and less well-known female landscape architects who pursued modernist ideals in their designs. The women discussed in this volume belong to the pioneering first two generations of professional landscape architects and were outstanding in the field.
Women Design
From architects and product designers to textile artists and digital innovators, Women Design profiles 27 of the most influential female designers from the twentieth century to the present day, showcasing their finest work and celebrating their enduring influence.
AA Women in Architecture
October 2017 marks the centenary of the admission of the first female students to the Architectural Association. Published to coincide with a symposium, exhibition and series of talks all celebrating this event, AA Women in Architecture puts forward the stories of women who have entered the architectural profession and their contributions to architectural practice and education.
Building
One of the foremost architects working today, Jeanne Gang is widely recognized for her innovative and independent practice. With the studio poised to contribute a new set of buildings to the global skyline, Building examines its most current work, twelve built and unbuilt projects that address four major issues facing contemporary architecture: its relationship to nature, the development of dense urban areas, the integration of the ideas of community members, and architecture and performance.
The BWAF Bibliography provides citations to surveys, monographs, gender and race in architectural practice, women and architectural schools, gender and planning, women and housing, and feminism architecture. Books that are not owned by Virginia Tech can be requested through interlibrary loan.
Women Architect and Designer Monographs
- Zueler, Lima. Lina Bo Bardi. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2013.
- Betsky, Aaron. Scanning: The Aberrant Architectures of Diller + Sofidao. New York: Whitney Musuem of American Art, 2003.
- Diller, Elizabeth. Blur: The Making of Nothing. New York: Harry N. Abrams, 2002.
- el-Khoury, Rodolphe, ed. Office dA: Works by Monica Ponce de Leon and NAder Tahrani. Gloucester, Mass.: Rockport Publishers, 2000.
- Kelley, Caffyn. Art and survival: Patricia Johanson's Environmental Projects. Salt Spring Island: Islands Institute, 2006.
- Lynn, Catherine and Penabad, Carie. Marion Manley: Miami's First Woman Architect. Athens, Georgia: University of Georgia Press, 2010
- McCurry, Margaret. Margaret McCurry: Constructing Twenty-Five Short Stories. New York: The Monacelli Press, 2000.
- McQuaid, Matilda. Lilly Reich: Designer and Architect. New York: The Museum of Modern Art, 1996.
- Mori, Toshiko. Toshiko Mork Architect: Works and Projects. Introduction by K. Michael Hays. New York: Monacelli Press, 2007.
- Perriand, Charlotte. Charlotte Perriand: A Life of Creation. New York: The Monacelli Press, 2003.
- Quacchia, Russell L. Julia Morgan Architect. Q Publishing, 2005.
- Shumacher, Patrik and Gordana Fontana-Giusti, eds. Zaha Hadid: Complete Works. New York: Rizzoli, 2004.
- Williams, Tod. Worklife: Tod Williams, Billie Tsien. Edited by Hadley Arnold. New York: Monacelli Press, 2000.
Gender and Race in Architectural Practice
- Adams, Annmarie, and Peta Tancred. Designing Women: Gender and the Architectural Profession. Toronto: University of Toronto, 2000.
- Anthony, Kathryn H. Designing for Diversity: Gender, Race, and Ethnicity in the Architectural Profession. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 2001.
- Durning, Louise, and Richard Wrigley, eds. Gender and Architecture. England: Wiley, 2000.
Gender and Planning
- Fainstin, Susan S. and Lisa J. Servon. Gender and Planning: A Reader. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 2005.
- Miranne, Kristine B., and Alma H. Young, eds. Gendering the City: Women, Boundaries, and Visions of Urban Life. Landham: Rowman & Littlefield, 2000.
- Spain, Daphne. How Women Saved the City. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 2001.
Feminism and Architecture
- Betsky, Aaron. Building Sex: Men, Women, Architecture, adn the Construction of Sexuality. New York: Morrow, 1995.
- Coleman, Debra, Elizabeth Danze, and Carol Henderson, eds. Architecture and Feminism. New York: Princeton Architectural Press, 1996.
- Colomina, Beatriz, ed. Sexuality and Space. New York: Princeton Architectural Press, 1992.
Pioneering Women of American Architecture - a collection of profiles of fifty women born before 1940 who have made important contributions to American architecture
Dynamic National Archive Collection - searchable database documenting the work of women architects and designers who have contributed to the places and spaces of the United States
Women in Architecture Bibliographic Database - searchable database of the International Archive of Women in Architecture
Wikipedia List of Women Architects - crowdsourced list of women architects organized by region
Below is a list of library databases that can aid in women's studies research. An exhaustive list of library databases can be found here.
- Women Working, 1800-1930Working Women, 1800--1930 provides free digitized manuscripts, personal papers, institutional records, magazines, and photos on aspects of women's history.
- Women's Studies EncyclopediaThe Women's Studies Encyclopedia provides full-text reference articles in HTML about women in all fields of study, primarily in the United States.
- Women's Studies International from EBSCOhost
This link opens in a new window
Women's Studies International indexes abstracts, citations, and full-text articles from academic journals, newspapers, magazines, newsletters, bulletins, books, conference proceedings, working papers, pamphlets, reports, theses, and dissertations in the arts, humanities, business, social sciences, and education. Full-text material is available in HTML and PDF formats. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1972-present. - Contemporary Women's Issues from Gale
- This link opens in a new window
Contemporary Women's Issues provides full-text journal articles, primary sources, NGO reports, and publications of grass-roots organizations. Coverage is international. 1992-present. - Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 from Alexander Street PressWomen and Social Movements in the US indexes citations and full text of primary documents and archives; book, film, and website reviews; teaching tools; a directory of organizations; and a chronology of women's history. 1745-present.
- GenderWatch from ProQuestGenderWatch indexes citations and full-text articles on gender and women's studies and GLBT research. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government, and special reports. Content is HTML and PDF. 1970-present.
- Gender: Identity and Social Change from Adam Matthew Digital
This link opens in a new window
Gender: Identity and Social Change provides primary sources for the study of gender history, women’s suffrage, sexual orientation and expression, the feminist movement, and the men’s movement. Content includes correspondence, newspapers and magazines, business reports, photos and artwork, polls, and organization papers. 1800s-present.
