RLCL 1004: Search Tools
FYE information for Religion/Culture, Foreign Languages, and Philosophy majors
Great Databases or Starting Your Search
Once you've got a list of keywords, you can use them to search in our databases. Here's a list of recommended sources that contain articles about virtually every subject.
Subject Guides
Notes - Lists of specialized and recommended databases and resources for each subject area.
Location - under the Research and Learning dropdown
- Academic Search Complete from EBSCOhost
This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, books, reports, and conference proceedings in all subject disciplines. Full text provided in PDF and HTML. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals. Searches can be limited to peer reviewed sources. Indexing 1887-present, most full-text content 1980s-present. - Gale EbooksGale Ebooks is a collection of searchable ebook reference works. You can search within a particular work or across the entire collection. Individual articles from these sources are presented in HTML and PDF. Illustrations, photos, maps, and multimedia content is often included.
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context from GaleOpposing Viewpoints offers over 14,000 pro/con viewpoint essays on controversial topics and current events, plus thousands of topic overviews, primary source documents, biographies of social activists, court case overviews, related full-text periodical articles, statistical tables, and multimedia content.
Discovery Search
The Discovery Search on the library homepage is your one-stop spot for finding physical and electronic resources. To get started, take a look at the video below.
From here you can visit our complete guide on using Discovery Search, which includes how to search, finding full text, exporting citations, finding physical items, getting help, and a list of available Discovery Search training workshops.