This database indexes citations for journal articles, books, proceedings, theses,and several other information sources that discuss a variety of aspects related to agriculture, life sciences, nutrition, and environmental science. 1970-present.
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century.
This database indexes citations and abstracts from journals, books, reports, handbooks, conference proceedings, field notes, and theses in agriculture, environmental sciences, natural resources, veterinary sciences, and several other life sciences fields. 1910s-present.
This database provides detailed information on agricultural and biological sciences. It contains datasheets (HTML and PDF) on: livestock and the diseases that affect them, food safety and quality, and statistical data on animal and economic production. It also provides an index to citations for agricultural publications and nearly 2,000 images. 1910s-present.
In addition to covering human medicine topics, this database covers a number of veterinary journals, conferences, case studies, news reports, and other sources of information related to a variety of aspects related to animal health. 1946-present.
PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant Web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
This database is included primarily for those working on the wild horse topic, as mustangs are considered to be managed more like wildlife, though there are a lot of intersections with grazing rights that are covered in the other agricultural databases.
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide indexes literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. Coverage includes more than 1.6 million bibliographic records many of which include abstracts. Most of the records in this database are from Wildlife Review Abstracts, formerly Wildlife Review. Wildlife Review Abstracts offers a global perspective and is the most comprehensive resource on wildlife information. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, zoology, taxonomy and much more.
This database indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, books, reports, and conference proceedings in all subject disciplines. Full text provided in PDF and HTML. Searches can be limited to peer reviewed sources. Indexing 1887-present, most full-text content 1980s-present.
Locating book chapters
The following publishers allow you to limit search results to book chapters. Just be sure the one you select has the full text access.
UlrichsWeb provides information about periodicals: whether a journal is peer reviewed, scholarly, trade, or popular; in which databases it is indexed; publication dates and title changes; journal and publisher policies for the self-archiving of articles by authors; and links to Journal Citation Reports for impact factors. Use the Get VText links to see local date coverage.