Skip to Main Content

VT ENGL1106 course template: Finding Newspaper Articles

Using Factiva

Factiva is a database of newspapers, blogs and trade journals.  It also indexes many of the state newspapers including The Roanoke Times, The Richmond TImes-Dispatch, Northern Virginia Daily, Virginian Pilot from Virginia Beach and the Daily Press from Newport News.  Another advantage of Factiva is the ability to search college newspapers using the U-Wire and the database indexes the Collegiate Times. 

To search for a specific newspaper:

  • Selec the source triangle and search for the newspaper title. 
  • Check to see if the newspaper has undergone a title change and choose those also
 roanoke time

To find a college newspaper or search all of them:

  • Select the source triangle and search for the newpaper title
  • Search for the U-Wire search box

 

 U-Wire

 

Other Factiva Goodies

newspages One of the perks of using Factiva is the ability to check the daily headlines of the Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, Washington Post, St. Louis Post-Dispatch, San Francisco Chronicle, Barrons and Forbes.  They include not headlines and articles from the front pages but also from all of the different sections - sports, leisure, travel, real estate etc.  You can access these headlines by choosing the News Pages link from the top of the page
company news

This is also a place to find information about the different companies and their news and stock quotes.  The Business databases are much more in depth but this is a good starting place.

To find this information, choose the Company/Market link at the top of the page.

Using LexisNexis

LexisNexis Academic is a collection of hundreds of databases covering topics such as news, business, legal research, people, and company information. It is a great place for news information and it also has some company information.  LexisNexis also indexes court cases and legal research.  

Finding News Articles by State

Using LexisNexis