Agricultural and applied economics: Recommended
Recommended online resources
- AgEcon Search from the University of MinnesotaOpen access repository of full-text scholarly literature in the broadly defined field of agricultural economics including sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development. The majority of items in AgEcon Search are working papers, conference papers, and journal articles, although other types such as books chapters and government documents are included. Many sources are peer reviewed and content is delivered as PDFs. 1922-present.
- AGRICOLA from ProQuest
This link opens in a new window
AGRICOLA indexes citations for journal articles, books, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture, life sciences, nutrition, and environmental science. This database provides selective worldwide coverage of primary information sources in agriculture and related fields. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1970-present. - Agricultural Science Collection from ProQuest
- This link opens in a new window
Agricultural Science Collection indexes citations, abstracts, and full text of agriculture journals, conference papers, and government reports including bibliographic records from AGRICOLA. 1970-present. - CAB Abstracts from CABICAB Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, books, reports, handbooks, conference proceedings, field notes, and theses in agriculture, life sciences, natural resources, veterinary sciences, applied economics, nutrition, tourism, and the environment. Includes the CAB Abstracts Archive. Some full text available as PDFs. 1910s-present.
- Annual Reviews
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews publishes comprehensive, critical, primary-literature reviews (HTML and PDF) for 40 scientific disciplines within the biological and medical, engineering and physical, and social sciences including economics. It is a useful starting point for upper level research because it synthesizes the vast amount of primary research literature and identifies the principal contributions in each field. 1939-present. - PubAg from the USDAPubAg indexes citations and full-text of agricultural scientific literature. 1997-present.
An open-access platform for anyone who wants to understand the economics of innovation, inequality, environmental sustainability, and more.
What is CORE?
Accessible, relevant, real-world economics teaching, available and free to everyone.
Congressional Research Service (CRS)
CRS serves as nonpartisan shared staff to congressional committees and Members of Congress. It operates solely at the behest of and under the direction of Congress. Information in a CRS Report should not be relied upon for purposes other than public understanding of information that has been provided by CRS to Members of Congress in connection with CRS’s institutional role. CRS Reports, as a work of the United States Government, are not subject to copyright protection in the United States. Any CRS Report may be reproduced and distributed in its entirety without permission from CRS. However, as a CRS Report may include copyrighted images or material from a third party, you may need to obtain the permission of the copyright holder if you wish to copy or otherwise use copyrighted material.
(Professor Benami's folk, take particular note of the following resources! However, all are welcome to use them.)
- The federal register will give you info on for rulemaking and documentation
- An example is: National Ambient Air Quality Standards for Particulate Matter Text
- Understanding the Federal Register has articles that help you gain a greater understanding of the Federal Register and the regulatory system that is a part of.
- Environmental Valuation Reference Inventory (EVRI)
- The Environmental Valuation Reference Inventory is a searchable storehouse of empirical studies on the economic value of environmental assets and human health effects.
- NOTE: Also available in a French interface
- National Service Center for Environmental Publications
- NOTE: When searching on the site by EPA publication number, remove the prefix and all non-alphanumeric characters.
For example, change: EPA 600/R-04-030.A to 600R04030A - Explanations of the various ways to search, recommended place to start to help you search more effectively.
- NOTE: When searching on the site by EPA publication number, remove the prefix and all non-alphanumeric characters.
Early Literature Databases
- Core Historical Literature of AgricultureThe Core Historical Literature of Agriculture is a core electronic collection of scanned agricultural texts. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science, forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. 1620-1999.
Libraries are for Everyone
Life Science, Agriculture, and Scholarly Communication Librarian
Ask a Librarian
Interlibrary Loan Services
All current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff, regardless of your location, may request through ILLiad for materials:
- not owned by Virginia Tech (books, articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
- owned by Virginia Tech but are unavailable for use (print books)
- owned by Virginia Tech and available in print (scans of articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
We ship requests via UPS to users outside the immediate Blacksburg area (Montgomery, Giles and Pulaski counties).
Articles, book chapters, and many technical papers are delivered in PDF format to your ILLiad account. Occasionally, due to copyright restrictions, a paper copy of an article or standard is held for your at the Newman User Services Desk or sent o the mailing address listed on your account.