Architecture: Materials, Codes, & Standards

Building Codes

MADCAD
MADCAD provides searchable, full-text access to building codes, design and evaluation standards, and technical bulletins. Content includes materials from organizations such as ASCE, ASHRAE, ASME, ASTM, FEMA, and SMACNA, as well as legacy codes from BOCA, SBCCI, ICBO, and current codes from the International Code Council (ICC). The database also contains selected state and international codes, such as Virginia state codes, available in HTML and PDF formats.
Building Green
BuildingGreen includes online versions of GreenSpec, "Environmental Building News", a database of green products (product descriptions and articles about the products), and a database of more than 160 high-performance building case studies (all in HTML). This information is searchable and cross-referenced by CSI MasterFormat division, LEED credit, or green building topic. 1992-present.
Construction Criteria Base (CCB) from the National Institute of Building Sciences
onstruction Criteria Base (CCB) is an extensive electronic library of construction guide specifications, manuals, standards, and other essential criteria documents. Published and updated continuously, CCB contains the complete unabridged, approved, current electronic equivalents of over 10,000 documents direct from participating federal agencies. CCB is an effective tool for finding and using current, approved U.S. construction criteria. Documents are available as PDFs and as word-processing formats or in the SPECSINTACT specification processing program used by the Army, NAVFAC and NASA.
SmartBuilding Index from Reed Construction Data
SmartBuilding Index provides architects, spec writers, engineers and contractors with in-depth information on commercial building products - including technical data, sourcing, cost data, project use examples, and downloadable specs, CAD and BIM objects.

Materials

Material ConneXion
Material ConneXion provides full-text data on materials used in architecture, interior and industrial design, fashion and apparel, and landscaping. Materials include polymers, ceramics, glass, metals, cements, and natural materials. Processing and sustainability information, physical and usage properties, and manufacturers are listed.

Material Order - Co-founded by Harvard University Graduate School of Design and Rhode Island School of Design, Material Order is the leading resource for design materials collections at academic and cultural institutions.

Looking for RS Means?

RSMeans Online

The Art & Architecture Library provides access to RSMeans Online. Email Sarah Over, sover05@vt.edu, for login information.

Print copies of the most recent editions are available on Reserve in the Art & Architecture Library.

Building Construction Cost Data by RS Means Company Get the confidence and knowhow you need to deliver more accurate cost estimates and improve profitability. The 76th edition of this bestselling cost guide has been updated and expanded to provide you with the information you need to estimate projects with confidence and accuracy, improve project planning and budgeting, and reduce risk.
ISBN: 9781946872012
Publication Date: 2018