Architecture: Recommended Resources
This Research Guide supports the Architecture program at Virginia Tech which seeks to develop students who are creatively independent, enterprising, and inventive, who have the ability to order and structure intellectual difficulties, and the skills, judgement, and desire to make lasting contributions to society.
The libraries e-book collections are all accessible through Discovery or curated by subject in the links below. Use the ebook search tool to find online access to specific titles.
- De Gruyter E-BooksBirkhauser and DETAIL e-books available as open access through De Gruyter or through the library catalog.
- El Croquis Digital LibraryProvides access to electronic versions of the periodical from #104 - present. Print versions available in the Folio section of the library.
- HathiTrustThe HathiTrust Digital Library contains over seven million volumes and over one billion pages of scanned books and other materials. About 20 percent of all content is in the public domain (and accessible to you). You can also browse several public collections. Content is available in several image formats, text, and PDF. 1200s-present.
- Le Corbusier OnlineComplete Collection of Le Corbusier's Works, available as e-books online.
- MIT Press Open Architecture and Urban StudiesA robust digital collection of classic and previously out-of-print architecture and urban studies books, on the digital book platform, MIT Press Direct.
- University Press Scholarship OnlineOxford provides full-text ebooks from U.S. and international university presses in HTML and PDF (each chapter is a separate PDF). We purchase individual ebooks on this platform and do not have access to every title.
- Wiley Online LibraryProvides access to Wiley e-books related to architecture and urbanism.
Almost all e-books can be found using the Libraries search box and limiting the Format option to "eBook".
Below is a list of library databases that can aid in architecture design research. An exhaustive list of library databases can be found here.
- Art & Architecture Complete from EBSCOhostArt & Architecture Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and some full text from journals, magazines, trade publications, and books covering all aspects of art and architecture. It also includes a large image collection. 1901-present.
- Art Index Retrospective from EBSCOhostArt Index Retrospective is an index of over a half-century of historic scholarly literature covering fine, decorative and commercial art. It is the electronic version of the print annual publication Art Index from its first volume, 1929, through 1984. It consists of citations of over 25,000 book reviews and high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed for the fields of art history, architectural history, and the visual arts.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals from EBSCOhostAvery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles in architecture and design from American and international scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, and publications of professional organizations. In addition, this database also provides citation records for architects' obituaries. Full text, when available, is in PDF and HTML. 1800s-present.
- DETAIL InspirationDETAIL provides reports on construction solutions, including photos and architectural plans.
- IAWA documents the women's involvement in architecture and landscape architecture, industrial and interior designer, and urban planning from around the world. Use the links on the left to search or browse for women who practiced architecture and related design professions. The IAWA collects information to fill serious gaps in the availability of primary research materials for architectural, women's, and social history research.
- MADCADMADCAD indexes full-text building codes, evaluation standards, design standards, and technical bulletins from ASCE, ASHRAE, ASME, ASTM, FEMA, NFPA, and SMACNA, plus state codes from Virginia in HTML and PDF. 1981-present
- Neighborhood Change Database 1970-2010The NCDB provides access to US Census data from 1970, 1980, 1990, 2000, and 2010 at the census tract level. The NCDB contains 1970, 1980, 1990, and 2000 Long Form data and the 2010 Summary File 1 and 2010 American Community Survey (ACS) data with details such as: population, household, and housing characteristics, income, poverty status, education level, employment, housing costs, immigration, and other variables.
- SmartBuilding Index from Reed Construction DataSmartBuilding Index provides architects, spec writers, engineers and contractors with in-depth information on commercial building products - including technical data, sourcing, cost data, project use examples, and downloadable specs, CAD and BIM objects.
- ULI Development Case StudiesULI Development Case Studies provides full-text case studies describing the development process of building projects (in HTML). Studies include general descriptions, contact information for the development team, the building site's background and history, special features of the project, what did and did not work on the project, key facts and figures, and photos of the site or floor plans. 1981-present.
- Building GreenBuildingGreen includes online versions of GreenSpec, "Environmental Building News", a database of green products (product descriptions and articles about the products), and a database of more than 160 high-performance building case studies (all in HTML). This information is searchable and cross-referenced by CSI MasterFormat division, LEED credit, or green building topic. 1992-present.
- Material ConneXionMaterial ConneXion provides full-text data on materials used in architecture, interior and industrial design, fashion and apparel, and landscaping. Materials include polymers, ceramics, glass, metals, cements, and natural materials. Processing and sustainability information, physical and usage properties, and manufacturers are listed.
- Material Order SEARCHShared online materials catalog that allows users to search the material collections of the Harvard University Gradate School of Design (GSD), Parsons School of Design, and the Rhode Island School of Design (RSID).
In addition to the digital resources linked below, physical maps are house in Newman Library and the Art & Architecture Library. They can be searched for using Discovery search. For assistance, get in touch with a librarian!
- Country Profiles and Mapping Information SystemCountry Profiles and Mapping Information System provides country-level reports and statistical data in FAO "fields of expertise" (namely sustainable development, economic situation, agriculture/ forestry/ fishery sectors, technical cooperation) and "priority areas" (biodiversity, biosecurity, biotechnology, climate change, ecosystem management, emergency operations, ethics, food for cities, gender, global studies, information management, integrated production systems, organic farming, spatial information, sustainable livelihoods, trade agreements).
- FIMo Fire Insurance Maps OnlineLarge-scale maps of towns and cities in Virginia and Washington, D.C., useful to urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, and environmentalists. Data contained includes the outline of each building; size, shape, and construction materials; functions of structures; locations of windows and doors; street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, and house and block numbers.
- PolicyMapPolicyMap provides data through interactive maps about communities and markets across the U.S., for research, market studies, business planning, site selection, grant applications, and impact analysis.
- USGS National Geologic Map DatabaseUSGS National Geologic Map Database provides maps and related data about: geology, hazards, earth resources, geophysics, geochemistry, geochronology, paleontology, and marine geology.
- OpenStreetMapOpenStreetMap is a crowdsourced map of the world and free to use under an open license.
Cowgill Hall, 100A
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Need more help?
All current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff, regardless of your location, may request through ILLiad for materials:
- not owned by Virginia Tech (books, articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
- owned by Virginia Tech but are unavailable for use (print books)
- owned by Virginia Tech and available in print (scans of articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
We ship requests via UPS to users outside the immediate Blacksburg area (Montgomery, Giles and Pulaski counties).
Articles, book chapters, and many technical papers are delivered in PDF format to your ILLiad account. Occasionally, due to copyright restrictions, a paper copy of an article or standard is held for your at the Newman User Services Desk or sent o the mailing address listed on your account.
The Art & Architecture Library provides access to RSMeans Online. Email Sarah Over, email@example.com, for login information.
Print copies of the most recent editions are available on Reserve.
- Building Construction Cost Data Get the confidence and know how you need to deliver more accurate cost estimates and improve profitability. The 76th edition of this bestselling cost guide has been updated and expanded to provide you with the information you need to estimate projects with confidence and accuracy, improve project planning and budgeting, and reduce risk.Call Number: TH435 .B84ISBN: 9781946872012