AGRICOLA indexes citations for journal articles, books, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture, life sciences, nutrition, and environmental science. This database provides selective worldwide coverage of primary information sources in agriculture and related fields. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1970-present.
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles in architecture and design from American and international scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, and publications of professional organizations. In addition, this database also provides citation records for architects' obituaries. Full text, when available, is in PDF and HTML. 1800s-present.
BuildingGreen includes online versions of GreenSpec, "Environmental Building News", a database of green products (product descriptions and articles about the products), and a database of more than 160 high-performance building case studies (all in HTML). This information is searchable and cross-referenced by CSI MasterFormat division, LEED credit, or green building topic. 1992-present.
Building Types Online is a resource for architectural design, offering over 1,300 contemporary building case studies, 6,300 architectural drawings, and 2,700 photographs. It covers diverse building types—including housing, offices, museums, schools, and libraries—and provides detailed floor plans and high-quality illustrations useful for architectural study and practice. All content was written and curated by experts in architectural design.
Environmental Science Index indexes citations, abstracts, and some full text from journals, conference papers and proceedings, special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations and private corporations, books, government studies and newsletters. It covers agricultural and biological science, social science, and technological aspects of the environment. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1975-present.
Environment Impact indexes citations and full text of journal articles, conference proceedings, government reports, books, and other publications on climate change and human impact on the environment. 1910-present.
Environment Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from journals, conference proceedings, and books on the agricultural, biological, social science, and technological aspects of the environment. Full text available in HTML and PDF. The database allows limiting to peer-reviewed journals. 1888-present.
Environment Complete contains more than 1,957,000 records from more than 1,700 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s (including 1,125 active core titles) as well as more than 120 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 680 journals, including many of the most used journals in the discipline, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist, Conservation Biology, etc. Additionally, Environment Complete provides full text for 120 monographs, such as Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (3 volumes), Advances in Water Treatment & Environmental Management, etc.
Garden, Landscape, and Horticulture Index indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text journal articles, conference proceedings, reviews, books, and recipes.Full text available in PDF and HTML. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources.
Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index covers a wide range of serial titles including general gardening titles of national, international, and regional interest, and titles devoted to specialty gardens and plant groups. Indexed and abstracted are more than 500 core titles, the majority of which are published in English. Coverage for many titles extends back further than a decade. Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index brings together articles about plants and gardens into a single source, and it includes titles that are not available in any other index.
GeoRef indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses in the geological sciences. It also includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1669-present (North America coverage); 1933-present (Worldwide coverage).
The GeoRef database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered.
To maintain the database, GeoRef editor/indexers regularly scan more than 3,500 journals in 40 languages as well as new books, maps, and reports. They record the bibliographic data for each document and assign index terms to describe it. Each month between 4,000 and 7,000 new references are added to the database.
ProQuest Deep Indexing: Earth Sciences supplements GeoRef with access to deep indexing for tables, figures, graphs, charts and other illustrations from the scholarly research and technical literature for selected records. Records from the database appear with searches of GeoRef to provide an additional path for discovery.
Sustainability Science Abstracts indexes abstracts and citations from journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, reports, theses, and dissertations in the fields of sustainable development, human population and demography, natural resource management, and conservation of natural resources. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1995-present.
Major areas of coverage include:
Human Population Dynamics
Population - Environment Relations
Population Statistics and Policy
Ecotourism
Sustainable Living and Consumption
Environmental Awareness and Education
Environmental Law, Conventions, & Policy
Sustainable Resource Base: Atmosphere; Land; Water and Biodiversity
Economic Drivers
Sustainable Development and Production
Sustainable Energy
Sustainable Transportation/Mobility
ULI Development Case Studies provides full-text case studies describing the development process of building projects (in HTML). Studies include general descriptions, contact information for the development team, the building site's background and history, special features of the project, what did and did not work on the project, key facts and figures, and photos of the site or floor plans. 1981-present.
Dissertations and Theses
VTechWorks houses dissertations and these from Virginia Tech students. All other links are to external dissertations and theses.
VTechWorks is Virginia Tech's institutional repository. It contains born-digital and scanned publications of Virginia Tech faculty and students, like dissertations, plus documents like Virginia state publication. Most are available in full text (PDF and other formats) and have no restrictions on access.
Virginia Tech's open access institutional repository, publicizes and preserves the scholarly work of Virginia Tech faculty, students, and staff: journal articles, books, theses, dissertations, conference papers, slide presentations, technical reports, working papers, administrative documents, videos, images, and more. Most content is recent, published within the last 15 years, but there is also a great deal of older and historical content. The full text of all documents is available, often in PDF format, and all entries are indexed by search engines such as Google Scholar and Discovery Search. Any member of the Virginia Tech community can upload material to VTechWorks.
How VTechWorks benefits researchers
Research in VTechWorks is widely disseminated, free to anyone in the world with an Internet connection.
Research in VTechWorks is easily discovered, since it is indexed in Google Scholar, WorldCat, the Virginia Tech website, and the Library's Discovery.
Research in VTechWorks has increased impact: many studies show that openly accessible research is more frequently cited by journalists and scholars than research published in journals and books that must be paid for.
Research in VTechWorks has a persistent, stable link ("handle") that won't change even when current servers are replaced, which makes it more reliable for others to cite and to share on social media.
Research in VTechWorks will be preserved by the University Libraries for decades or even centuries, unlike research posted on a personal web page or published by a company that might go out of business.
Research in VTechWorks is preserved even if a researcher leaves Virginia Tech, but it can always be posted or published elsewhere, since Virginia Tech does not claim any unnecessary or additional rights to the material.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations is an index of over 1.5 million electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). To the extent possible, the index is limited to records of graduate-level theses that are freely available online.
Includes more than 2.7 million citations to dissertations and theses from around the world along with more than 1.2 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added yearly. Use ILLiad to request non-full-text theses or dissertations. 1637-present, full-text dissertations 1997-present.
