Landscape Architecture: Videos and Images
For information on the Art & Architecture Library visit https://guides.lib.vt.edu/artarch
.
. Video Resources
The Art & Architecture Library houses a collection of DVDS that are available for checkout. In addition, the University Libraries subscribes to a number of streaming video databases. For a full list of streaming databases click here.
- Films on Demand
This link opens in a new window
An online video database, Films on Demand contains more than 40,000 professionally closed-captioned videos, ranging from short clips to full-length documentaries. You will find streaming videos from Films for the Humanities & Sciences, Cambridge Educational, NBC News, ABC News, PBS, The Ken Burns Collection, BBC, Meridian, the American Museum of Natural History and others. - Kanopy Streaming VideosNOTE: As of Spring 2021 Kanopy made changes to links and access, so proxied links to streaming videos on the platform will no longer work. Please update any links to Kanopy videos in Canvas, syllabi, etc, with the new URLs.
The new base URL is https://vt.kanopy.com with specific videos using the following format: https://vt.kanopy.com/video/seadrift
Kanopy provides hundreds of streaming videos in a wide variety of subjects. For videos outside our collection, you'll be presented a form to request they be added. - OnArchitectureOnArchitecture provides videos on architectural subjects: interviews, buildings, and installations.
- PBS Videos
- This link opens in a new window
This curated collection of older streaming videos, originally broadcast on PBS, covers a broad range of disciplines in the sciences, humanities, arts, and social sciences, but is particularly strong in American history and American studies. The collection Includes several of Ken Burns' series, American Experience, Scientific American Frontiers, and many others. User access is available through UVA's Avalon Media System after signing in with 2-factor authentication at Virginia Tech. - Swank Digital CampusSwank offers over 1000 streaming videos: popular movies, documentaries, and foreign films.
Image Resources
The are many image collections available on through museums, universities, historical societies, etc. These types of collections will usually be higher resolution than images found on Google or Flickr. Remember, regardless of where you find an image, always check the usage permissions and cite the source.
- ArtstorArtstor provides high quality images of visual media like paintings, photographs, architecture, sculpture, decorative arts, and other forms of visual culture. It provides tools to create, manage, and present collections of images. Prehistoric times-present.
-
FlickrThis online photo sharing site contains images contributed by users. Images of people, places, architecture, sculpture, landscapes, animals, events, etc. Not all contributors allow their images to be used.
-
Flickr CommonsA sub-site of Flickr, the Commons is a collection of images from cultural institutions, including the Smithsonian, the Library of Congress, and more. Many of these images are in the public domain. See the "Using and Citing Images" tab for more info.
-
American Memory ProjectPrimary source documents and archives for American history and culture from the Library of Congress. Includes printed text, collections of photographs, and some scanned manuscripts.
-
RIBApixImages from the collections of the British Architectural Library at the Royal Institute of British Architects. Covers world architecture of all periods as well as interior design, landscape, topography, planning, construction, and decorative arts.