Skip to main content

International Archive of Women in Architecture (IAWA): Home

The IAWA was established in 1985 as a joint program of the College of Architecture and Urban Studies and the University Libraries at Virginia Tech. The purpose of the Archive is to document the history of women's contributions to the built environment.

International Archive of Women in Architecture

Selections from the IAWA Collections

Black and white photograph of Washington DC architect Melita Rodeck

Washington D.C. architect Melita Rodeck at work,1970.

Presentation sketch by California architect Sigrid Rupp

Presentation drawing of house by Lilia Skala, n.d.

Black and white computer output drawing of land elevation

Computer aided landscape survey by Beverly Willis, CARLA program

Annotated elevation drawing by Elsa Leviseur

Annotated elevation drawing by Elsa Leviseur

About the IAWA

The International Archive of Women in Architecture (IAWA) was established in 1985 as a joint program of the College of Architecture and Urban Studies and the University Libraries at Virginia Tech. The purpose of the Archive is to document the history of women's contributions to the built environment by collecting, preserving, and providing access to the records of women's architectural organizations and the professional papers of women architects, landscape architects, designers, architectural historians and critics, and urban planners. The IAWA strives to improve the availability of rich primary source materials for architectural, women's, and social history research. 

What We Collect
Today, the IAWA documents the legacies of more than 435 individuals, firms, organizations, and exhibits from the 1890s through the present day. The permanent collections include approximately 2000 cubic feet of documents, photographs and negatives, architectural drawings, sketches, scrapbooks, building models, presentation boards, and other materials that capture the creative process. The IAWA also collects books, biographical information, and other published materials as part of its mission to act as a clearinghouse of information about the global history of women in architecture.

Who We Serve
Special Collections works with a global community of scholars, students, researchers, and members of the general public. The IAWA and its resources are available to everyone. It is not necessary to make an appointment, although we invite you to contact us in advance with any questions you might have. For more information about visiting Special Collections and requesting materials, please review Special Collections and University archives: A Basic Introduction.

Structure of this Guide
The guide consists of the following pages: 

  • A. Collecting Focus: Learn how Special Collections discovers and acquires new materials for the IAWA. This page includes information about donating materials to the IAWA and what happens to a collection after it is donated
  • B. Scholarly Highlights:​ Quickly identify notable themes, communities, and sub-topics in the IAWA. This is a great place to start if you are looking for research inspiration.
  • C. Find Materials: How does one conduct research and find resources in the IAWA? This page examines different tools you can use to find appropriate materials for your work and offers tips to help you overcome potential challenges.
  • D. Research and Instruction Services: In addition to helping you find and retrieve useful materials, how can Special Collections staff support your work with the IAWA?

Contact the Collections Archivist

Sam Winn's picture
Sam Winn
Contact:
Special Collections
University Library (0434)
560 Drillfield Drive
Blacksburg, VA 24061
540-231-7486

General Information

Hours: 
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm & By Appointment

Find us online!
Website: https://spec.lib.vt.edu/collections/women-built-environ/iawa/index.html 
Digital Collections: http://iawa.lib.vt.edu
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/
InternationalArchiveofWomeninArchitecture

Request an instruction session:
https://aqua.lib.vt.edu/spec-request.php


Contact Special Collections:
Email: specref@vt.edu
Telephone: 540-231-6308
Information for Visitors

Visit the general Special Collections Guide

Selections from the IAWA Collections

Black and white photograph of architectural model on table, side perspective.

Architectural model for grad school project by Jane Hall Johnson