Skip to main content

International Archive of Women in Architecture (IAWA): Research & Instruction Services

The IAWA was established in 1985 as a joint program of the College of Architecture and Urban Studies and the University Libraries at Virginia Tech. The purpose of the Archive is to document the history of women's contributions to the built environment.

International Archive of Women in Architecture

Services and Other Activities

The primary purpose of Special Collections is to collect, preserve, arrange, describe, and provide access to unique historical materials and significant research collections. To support and complement this primary mission, we engage in many other activities and offer several services. 


Reference Services

For research assistance or questions about the IAWA collections, reference inquiries may be submitted in person, by telephone, or by an email to the department account, specref@vt.edu. We will do our best to reply in a timely manner.


Scanning and Copying

A photocopier is available in the Reading Room for patron use. The physical condition of a given item and any stated access restrictions may limit an item's availability to be photocopied as will any stated restriction in a manuscript collection's finding aid

Scans of materials may be requested. Please allow staff adequate time to process and produce the scans. The physical condition of a given item may limit an item's availability to be scanned as will any stated restriction in a manuscript collection's finding aid

Special Collections does not charge fees for these services, but we do accept donations

Compliance with copyright restrictions on use of photocopies and scans are the responsibility of the patron. Special Collections reserves the right to refuse to accept a request to make copies or scans if, in its judgment, fulfillment of that request would involve violation of copyright law. Permission/order forms are available from Special Collections. 


Instructional Services

Special Collections has developed an active program of instruction through university courses and instructional sessions to introduce students to Special Collections and enrich scholarly exploration of specific topics. For more information on these services or to request a session on the IAWA collections, please contact the Special Collections directly or use the request form on the Library's webpage.

Classroom session for CAUS
Instructional session prepared for a class in the College of Architecture and Urban Studies


Outreach and Exhibits

Special Collections maintains an active schedule of in-house and virtual exhibits. We also collaborate with other campus departments and, on occasion, off-campus institutions. Regular exhibits can be viewed on the first floor of Newman Library near the cafe.

Exhibit for the 18th Congress of the International Union of Women Architects, July 2015

Exhibit case for the 18th Congress of the International Union of Women Architects, July 2015

Exhibit for the 18th Congress of the International Union of Women Architects, July 2015

 

Contact the Collections Archivist

Sam Winn's picture
Sam Winn
Contact:
Special Collections
University Library (0434)
560 Drillfield Drive
Blacksburg, VA 24061
540-231-7486

General Information

Hours: 
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm & By Appointment

Find us online!
Website: https://spec.lib.vt.edu/iawa
Digital Collections: http://iawaomeka.lib.vt.edu
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/
InternationalArchiveofWomeninArchitecture

Request an instruction session:
https://aqua.lib.vt.edu/spec-request.php


Contact Special Collections:
Email: specref@vt.edu
Telephone: 540-231-6308
Information for Visitors

Visit the general Special Collections Guide