Cinema studies: Additional resources

Alexander Street Press provides streaming videos, including feature films, television programs and segments, documentaries, educational films, and more. You can search against transcripts of most videos and create clips from segments for inclusion in course materials. Includes archives of "Meet the Press" 1947-2013.

Ambrose provides streaming videos of BBC Shakespeare performances.

An online video database, Films on Demand contains more than 40,000 professionally closed-captioned videos, ranging from short clips to full-length documentaries. You will find streaming videos from Films for the Humanities & Sciences, Cambridge Educational, NBC News, ABC News, PBS, The Ken Burns Collection, BBC, Meridian, the American Museum of Natural History and others.

NOTE: As of Spring 2021 Kanopy made changes to links and access, so proxied links to streaming videos on the platform will no longer work. Please update any links to Kanopy videos in Canvas, syllabi, etc, with the new URLs.

The new base URL is https://vt.kanopy.com with specific videos using the following format: https://vt.kanopy.com/video/seadrift

Kanopy provides hundreds of streaming videos in a wide variety of subjects. For videos outside our collection, you'll be presented a form to request they be added.

This curated collection of older streaming videos, originally broadcast on PBS, covers a broad range of disciplines in the sciences, humanities, arts, and social sciences, but is particularly strong in American history and American studies. The collection Includes several of Ken Burns' series, American Experience, Scientific American Frontiers, and many others. User access is available through UVA's Avalon Media System after signing in with 2-factor authentication at Virginia Tech.

Socialism on Film provides streaming video from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture, and society from the 20th century and countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain, and Cuba.

Films on Demand offers almost 400 streaming videos of movies from around the world: Europe, Asia, Africa, the Middle East, and Latin America.

American History in Video provides a large and rich collection of video available online for the study of American history. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. Videos cover the exploration period starting in 1492 through the late 20th century.

Drama Online provides over 2000 full-text plays and monologues You can search by content type, genre, period, author, setting, theme, cast size, and roles. Its Reader can show original pagination, tables of contents, or scholarly annotations, and you can add bookmarks and notes or extract citations or a parts book. The library subscribes to Nick Hern books, Canadian Playwrights, Stage on Screen, and the Hollow Crown.

Met Opera on Demand provides streaming video of over 500 Met performances, each with subtitles in English and other languages. You can search by opera, singer, composer, or conductor. Scroll down for the list of available performances.