Cinema studies: Recommended

Research in cinema studies at Virginia Tech features resources on film history, criticism, and production.

Overview for cinema studies

Communication & Mass Media Complete from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.
CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 550 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of 737 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 440 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable cited references from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915). CMMC contains a sophisticated Communication Thesaurus and comprehensive reference browsing (i.e. searchable cited references for peer-reviewed journals covered as “core”). In addition, CMMC features over 5,400 Author Profiles, providing biographical data and bibliographic information, and covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database.
Gale Ebooks
Gale Ebooks is a collection of searchable ebook reference works. You can search within a particular work or across the entire collection. Individual articles from these sources are presented in HTML and PDF. Illustrations, photos, maps, and multimedia content is often included.
Oxford Reference Online
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online provides full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works. Individual articles can be downloaded as PDFs.

Recommended online resources

ARTbibliographies Modern from ProQuest
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1960s-present.
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Full coverage begins in 1974 when the first volume was digitized, but entries date back to the late 1960s.

ABM is the premier source of information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, including photography since its invention. It includes abstracts of English and foreign-language material on famous and lesser-known artists, movements, and trends. The coverage of ABM is wide-ranging and includes performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.
Art Index Retrospective from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
Art Index Retrospective is an index of over a half-century of historic scholarly literature covering fine, decorative and commercial art. It is the electronic version of the print annual publication Art Index from its first volume, 1929, through 1984. It consists of citations of over 25,000 book reviews and high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed for the fields of art history, architectural history, and the visual arts.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index from Clarivate Analytics
Arts & Humanities Citation Citation Index indexes citations and abstracts of journal literature, books, and conference papers in the arts and humanities. It also includes citations that refer to or review books, works of art, music scores, and performances. You can search cited references. 1900-present.
Arts & Humanities Citation Citation Index indexes citations and abstracts of journal literature of the arts and humanities, including original research articles, reviews, editorials, chronologies, abstracts, scripts, and more. It fully covers 1,160 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
It also includes citations that refer to or review books, works of art, music scores, and performances.
Communication Abstracts Online from EBSCOhost
Communication Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, conference papers, selected websites, and industry reports in all areas of communication, including film studies, technology, and business. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1925-present.
Film & Television Literature Index from EBSCOhost
Film & Television Literature Index indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers, along with books and book reviews, film and television program reviews, interviews, and biographical information on all aspects of film and television theory, writing, production, and reviews. Full text is available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1910s-present.
Humanities and Performing Arts databases from ProQuest
Search across multiple ProQuest databases for journal and magazine articles, reviews, news reports, and dissertations in the humanities and performing arts.
Humanities International Complete from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals, books and book reviews, art work and images, performances and reviews, literature and criticisms, poems and short stories, and conference proceedings. Full text is available as HTML and PDF; images are available in a variety of formats. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources.

T&LE Liaison Librarian; Coordinator of Int'l Outreach

Jennifer Nardine

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Newman Library, Room 3007
Liaison Areas: Academy of Interdisciplinary Studies, Communication; Modern and Classical Languages & Lit; Performing Arts; Religion & Culture; Sociology

540-231-4073

Subjects: Humanities and performing arts, Languages and literatures

Ask a Librarian

Interlibrary Loan Services

All current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff, regardless of your location, may request through ILLiad for materials:

not owned by Virginia Tech (books, articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
owned by Virginia Tech but are unavailable for use (print books)
owned by Virginia Tech and available in print (scans of articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)

We ship requests via UPS to users outside the immediate Blacksburg area (Montgomery, Giles and Pulaski counties).

Articles, book chapters, and many technical papers are delivered in PDF format to your ILLiad account. Occasionally, due to copyright restrictions, a paper copy of an article or standard is held for your at the Newman User Services Desk or sent o the mailing address listed on your account.