Classical Languages and Literature: Recommended
Research materials for classics at Virginia Tech support the study of the languages, literatures, art, history, and culture of the ancient Greek and Roman world.
Overview for classics
- Gale EbooksGale Ebooks is a collection of searchable ebook reference works. You can search within a particular work or across the entire collection. Individual articles from these sources are presented in HTML and PDF. Illustrations, photos, maps, and multimedia content is often included.
- Perseus Digital LibraryPerseus Digital Library covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world, plus Arabic materials, Germanic materials, 19th-century America, the Renaissance, and Civil War issues of the Richmond Times-Dispatch. It collects texts, images, datasets and other primary materials. The database assembles and structures encyclopedias, maps, grammars, dictionaries and other reference works. 850,000 reference articles provide background on 450,000 people, places, organizations, dictionary definitions, grammatical functions and other topics.
- Dictionary of Classical MythologyJenny March's acclaimed Dictionary of Classical Mythology, first published in 1998 but long out of print, has been extensively revised and expanded including a completely new set of beautiful line-drawing illustrations for this Oxbow edition. It is a comprehensive A - Z guide to Greek and Roman mythology. All major myths, legends and fables are here, including gods and goddesses, heroes and villains, dangerous women, legendary creatures and monsters.
Recommended online resources
- L'Année philologique from BrepolisL’Année philologique indexes citations and abstracts of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Its subjects are Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, including early Christian texts and patristics, Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy.
- Loeb Classical LibraryLoeb Classical Library provides ebooks of Latin and Greek works that show the original language and English translation on facing pages. You can search using Latin or Greek letters.
- TOCS-IN Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to ClassicistsTOCS-IN indexes table of contents of journals of interest to classicists: classics, near Eastern studies, and religion. Some entries offer links to full text or abstracts.
T&LE Liaison Librarian
Jennifer Nardine
she/her
Contact:
Newman Library, Room 3007
Liaison Areas: Academy of Interdisciplinary Studies, Communication; Modern and Classical Languages & Lit; Performing Arts; Religion & Culture; Sociology
Liaison Areas: Academy of Interdisciplinary Studies, Communication; Modern and Classical Languages & Lit; Performing Arts; Religion & Culture; Sociology
540-231-4073
Website
Ask a Librarian
Interlibrary Loan Services
All current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff, regardless of your location, may request through ILLiad for materials:
- not owned by Virginia Tech (books, articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
- owned by Virginia Tech but are unavailable for use (print books)
- owned by Virginia Tech and available in print (scans of articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
We ship requests via UPS to users outside the immediate Blacksburg area (Montgomery, Giles and Pulaski counties).
Articles, book chapters, and many technical papers are delivered in PDF format to your ILLiad account. Occasionally, due to copyright restrictions, a paper copy of an article or standard is held for your at the Newman User Services Desk or sent o the mailing address listed on your account.