Education: Recommended

Education research at Virginia Tech is encompassed in three departments: Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Learning Sciences and Technology, and Teaching and Learning.

Education Librarian

Lisa Becksford Russell

Email Me

Contact:

lisab5@vt.edu

Subjects: Social sciences and education

Schedule an appointment with me!

The best way to get in touch is to send an email or sign up for an appointment during my regularly-scheduled office hours. To sign up, please click the button below. If none of those times work, please email me to find another time. For 2024-2025, consultations are available either in-person in Newman Library or virtually via Zoom. Please note that the default appointment length is 15 minutes, but longer appointments are available.

APA 7th Edition Citation Basics

APA Style Basics, 7th Edition
This library-produced guide covers the basics of in-text citations and common reference list entries.
Quick Reference Guide, APA Style
This quick reference guide demonstrates how to cite journal articles, books, and chapters from edited books in the APA 7th edition reference list.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Call Number: BF76.7.P83 2020
ISBN: 9781433832161
Publication Date: 2019

General Education Research Databases

Education Research Complete from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals, books, book chapters, case studies, essays, interviews, conference proceedings, product reviews, and experiments in all areas of education. You can limit to peer-reviewed journals. 1865-present.
The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for nearly 1,300 journals. This database also includes full text for nearly 550 books and monographs, full text for numerous education-related conference papers, plus author profiles for the most prolific authors in the field.
Educators Reference Complete from Gale
Educators Reference Complete Indexes citations and full text of academic journals, reports, and reference works in administration, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing.
ERIC via EBSCOhost
ERIC indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, conference and meeting papers, government documents, theses and dissertations, reports, A/V materials, books, and more on all aspects of education. Many documents are available in full text (HTML and PDF). You can limit to peer-reviewed sources for documents published since 2004. 1966-present.
Teacher Reference Center from EBSCOhost
Teacher Reference Center indexes abstracts, citations, and full-text articles from academic journals, magazines, directories, biographies, and case studies on all aspects of education.The full-text materials are available in both HTML and PDF formats. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1984-present.
Education Index Retrospective: 1929 -1983 from EBSCO
- This link opens in a new window
Education Index Retrospective indexes citations and abstracts of journal articles covering all aspects of education.

Educational Psychology

APA PsycARTICLES from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group. Full text provided as HTML and PDF. You can limit to age groups, classification codes, methodology, and population group. 1894-present.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection database indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, magazines, and book reviews in the field of psychiatry and psychology, anthropology, emotional and behavioral characteristics. Full-text articles are available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1930-present.
APA PsycINFO from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO indexes citations, abstracts, cited references, and some full text from articles, books, dissertations, and reviews on all aspects of psychology. Full text provided as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources, age group, classification code, methodology, and population group. 1840-present.

Research and Publishing

Cabell's Journalytics Academic
Cabell's provides information on the journal article publishing process: acceptance rates, style and formats, types of review processed, time required, and other criteria to find the best fit for your manuscript. Reports provided in HTML and PDF.

Registry of Efficacy and Effectiveness Studies
The Registry of Efficacy and Effectiveness Studies (REES) is a database of causal inference studies in education and related fields. REES is designed to increase transparency of and access to information about both ongoing and completed efficacy and effectiveness studies. REES accommodates a range of study designs, including randomized trials, quasi-experimental designs, regression discontinuity designs, and single case designs. The database is searchable and exportable.

SAGE Research Methods Online
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods indexes full-text books, reference sources, the "little green book" series (Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences), the "little blue book" series (Qualitative Research Methods), journal articles, and videos. Since this platform focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used by researchers from the social sciences, health sciences, and more. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit searches by research method type. 1970s-present.
The Methods Map is an exciting and innovative visualization tool that can be used to discover relationships between methods, to discover new methods and to find content related to them. Underpinning the Methods Map is a new taxonomy of social science research methods, developed by SAGE, and containing over 1,400 unique terms.

The Methods Lists are lists of content within the product that our users have selected and want to share through this product. You can create your own lists, either for private use, or to share with others on the site.

The Little Green Books are our famous series, Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences. This entire series is available on SAGE Research Methods, with additional tools across the site to filter your search on just these titles.

Interlibrary Loan Services

All current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff, regardless of your location, may request through ILLiad for materials:

not owned by Virginia Tech (books, articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
owned by Virginia Tech but are unavailable for use (print books)
owned by Virginia Tech and available in print (scans of articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)

We ship requests via UPS to users outside the immediate Blacksburg area (Montgomery, Giles and Pulaski counties).

Articles, book chapters, and many technical papers are delivered in PDF format to your ILLiad account. Occasionally, due to copyright restrictions, a paper copy of an article or standard is held for your at the Newman User Services Desk or sent o the mailing address listed on your account.

Counseling

Academic Video Online from ProQuest
- This link opens in a new window
Use the subject filter to find videos about counseling.
Psychotherapy.net
Psychotherapy.net provides streaming videos on psychotherapy and counseling.
APA PsycTHERAPY from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
PsycTHERAPY provides unscripted videos of therapy sessions, with searchable transcripts and the ability to create playlists. Click "Watch video on PsycTHERAPY" to view the content.

Education News

Chronicle of Higher Education
The Chronicle of Higher Education provides full text HTML articles from the publication back to 1970.

Education Week
Education Week provides news, commentary, video, and statistics on current educational issues. Virginia Tech users have full access to content but can sign up for free email newsletters as well.

Tests and Measures

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print from EBSCOhost
Descriptive information and critical reviews of new and revised tests from the Buros Institute's 1st-20th Yearbooks. Covers commercially-available tests in categories such as personality, developmental, behavioral assessment, neuropsychological, achievement, intelligence and aptitude, educational, and speech & hearing. Contains descriptive info (test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited reviews written by leading area experts. Does not contain the actual tests, though links may be provided.
Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments. The MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. All MMY entries contain descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited review(s) written by leading content area experts, but not the actual tests, though links to sources of a test may be provided. To be included in the MMY, a test must be commercially available, be published in the English language, and be new or revised since it last appeared in the series.

Also produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
APA PsycTESTS from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
PsycTESTS indexes psychological tests, with the full text of the test available in most cases. Test instruments available in HTML and PDF.

Pedagogy and Practice

What Works Clearinghouse | Institute of Education Sciences
"For more than a decade, the WWC has been a central and trusted source of scientific evidence on education programs, products, practices, and policies. We review the research, determine which studies meet rigorous standards, and summarize the findings. We focus on high-quality research to answer the question 'what works in education?'"

Policy

Higher Education Policy for Minorities in the United States
The Collection of Higher Education Policy for Minority students in the U.S contains a variety of resources (reports, data analysis, scholarly papers) from several organizations at the international, national, and local levels, as well as governmental, profit and non-profit organizations. The materials provide a comprehensive and balanced view on higher education policy analysis of access, educational attainment, financing, educational equity, affirmative actions, and socioeconomic and cultural challenges that minority students face.

PolicyMap
PolicyMap provides data through interactive maps about communities and markets across the U.S., for research, market studies, business planning, site selection, grant applications, and impact analysis.
Videos and tutorials about using PolicyMap are available on the Support Page. For information on PolicyMap datasets, visit Data Indicators.

Grants

Funding Institutional from Elsevier
Funding Institutional allows researchers to search for grant opportunities and provides historical data about awards and related publications. This data can be used to select opportunities that are the best fit and tailor proposals based on past success. Additionally, users can track award trends, find potential collaborators, and improve their understanding of the competitive landscape. Searches can be narrowed down by location, special interest (limited submission, amount greater than $1M, deadline within three months, multidisciplinary, or foundation or private sponsor) and/or by subject area. It includes information on more than 11,000 funding bodies and more than 24,000 active opportunities. Use your vt.edu email address to register for an account.
This database is provided by the Office of the Vice President for Research and Innovation.
Grants.gov
Grants.gov simplifies the grants management process and creates a centralized, online process to find and apply for over 900 grant programs from the 26 federal grant-making agencies. Grants.gov streamlines the process of awarding over $360 billion annually to state and local governments, academia, not-for-profits and other organizations. The vision for Grants.gov is to be a simple, unified source to electronically find, apply and manage grant opportunities.