Women's, Gender & Sexuality Studies

Family & Society Studies Worldwide, produced by NISC, is a core resource providing comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of family science, human ecology, human development, and social welfare. FSSW covers popular issues as well as meeting the requirements of professionals in all fields of social work, social science and family practice.

Coverage spans publications from a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history and social work. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, statistical documents, theses and dissertations, and other sources.

Sourced from distinguished libraries and archives from across the world, this digital archive offers a diverse mixture of materials, including periodicals, campaign propaganda, government records, oral histories, and various ephemera.

Lyle H. Wright, a librarian at the Huntington Library in San Marino, CA, created a bibliography of American fiction from the years 1851–1875, published as American Fiction 1851–1875: A Contribution Toward a Bibliography (San Marino, CA: The Huntington Library, 1957; revised 1965). He listed a total of 2,923 titles in adult fiction, including "novels, novelettes, romances, short stories, tall tales, tract-like tales, allegories, and fictitious biographies and travels, in prose" (from the introduction), and inventoried 18 American libraries for holdings. This compilation is part of his three-volume set listing American fiction from 1774 through 1900, and is considered the most comprehensive bibliography of American adult fiction of the 18th and 19th centuries.

American fiction was still in its infancy in the years 1851–1875, but this period saw publication of works by Harriet Beecher Stowe, Mark Twain, Bret Harte, Nathaniel Hawthorne, William Dean Howells, and Herman Melville. Many of these authors, especially Twain, Harte and Howells, had just begun their writing careers during this period and went on to write their best known work later. However, most of the authors contained in the bibliography are little known. This period - a momentous one in American history - provides the foundation for later American literature, and this digital collection of 2,887 titles allows insight into American literature, culture, and history otherwise unattainable.

The Wright American Fiction project is still heavily referenced and often sought for data mining and textual analysis. In continuing support of readers and researchers, the project was recently migrated to ensure ongoing, optimal access to the digital content.

This collection is the digitized version of the physical materials in the Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs. The collection was begun in the late 1800s by Dutch physician and feminist Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen.

Women and Social Movements in the United States is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. history generally at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. The collection currently includes 100 document projects and archives with almost 3,950 documents and 150,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by some 2,150 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.

Women and Social Movements: Basic Edition contains the following resources:

100 document projects that interpret and present documents, most of which are not otherwise available online. Each document project poses an interpretive question and provides a collection of documents that address the question. Altogether these document projects provide more than 3,950 documents, almost 1,200 images, and 900 links to other websites. They demonstrate that historical analysis is an interpretive process based on documents. Viewers of the site are encouraged to participate in that interpretive process. We usually add six new document projects or archives annually.
About 800 publications with 48,000 pages of full-text sources pertaining to Women and Social Movements in the United States. These materials have been selected by the Editors for their relevance to the focus of the website. We add 5,000 additional pages of sources annually. For a listing of full-text sources, go to Browse Bibliography and click on Full Text Primary Sources.
A dictionary of social movements and organizations.
A chronology of U.S. Women's History.
Teaching Tools with lesson ideas and document-based questions related to the website's document projects.
Book and web site reviews published twice annually.
Regularly-published news from the archives about primary sources in U.S. Women's History.

The finding aid is the result of a five-year project by staff at The National Archives in the mid-1990s and enables researchers to quickly locate details of documents at TNA relating to women. This finding aid is far more detailed and extensive than anything available elsewhere online and has the benefit of ranging across all of the document classes TNA hold.

The original documents cover the campaign for women's suffrage in Britain, 1903-1928 and the granting of women's suffrage in colonial territories, 1930-1962.

Women’s Studies International, produced by NISC, covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage includes more than 871,000 records and spans from 1972 and earlier to present. This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Nearly 800 essential sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented. Women’s Studies International includes the following database files: Women Studies Abstracts, Women’s Studies Bibliography Database, Women’s Studies Database, Women Studies Librarian, Women of Color and Southern Women: A Bibliography of Social Science Research, and Women’s Health and Development: An Annotated Bibliography.

GenderWatch's strong collection of important, current titles provides users comprehensive support for gender, family, ethnic, and societal studies from both academic and grassroots perspectives. Users will find essential titles such as Off Our Backs (1970 to current) and Transgender Tapestry, international titles such as Sister Namibia and the Australian Feminist Law Journal, community newspapers such as Out & About and the Windy City Times, and many other diverse and interdisciplinary publications.